fbpx
كل دولار يصل إلى $50،000 حتى 31 ديسمبر! تبرع اليوم.
آلية SpeakUp® الخاصة بنا
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءتبرع

جيلاشول بايام (جنوب السودان) يبحر في العزلة والجوع والسعي لتحقيق السلام

التاريخ: 6 مايو 2024

جيلاتشول هي بلدة تقع في مقاطعة باليتولاية أعالي النيل، وهي موطن لمجتمع الدينكا بشكل رئيسي. تقع Gelachol على الحدود بينهما مقاطعة أولانج و مقاطعة نيرول، ويسكنها في الغالب مجتمع النوير. وبسبب أعمال العنف المتكررة، لجأ العديد من المدنيين النازحين من المناطق المجاورة إلى جيلاتشول بحثًا عن الملجأ والاستقرار والأمان. ومع ذلك، يكافح جيلاتشول لتوفير مصادر الغذاء لكل من المدنيين النازحين والسكان المحليين. 

تعميم الحماية خلال توزيع منظمة التضامن الدولية (SI) لأدوات الزراعة وصيد الأسماك في مقاطعة ليلو ووارجوك ملكال. 15 مايو 2023.

تذليل العقبات والوصول إلى المجتمعات النائية

وفي المناطق النائية مثل جيلاتشول، تواجه المنظمات الإنسانية تحديات كبيرة في توسيع نطاق وصولها. وتشكل عزلة البلدة، البعيدة عن مركز المقاطعة في باليت وعاصمة الولاية في ملكال، عقبات لوجستية تتفاقم بسبب غياب شبكات الهاتف المحمول وسوء حالة الطرق. وخلال موسم الأمطار، تصبح هذه الطرق غير صالحة تماما للمرور. وفي الماضي، أعرب العاملون في المجال الإنساني من المنظمات الأخرى عن قلقهم بشأن سلامتهم. 

بينما يتصارع المجتمع الدولي مع التحدي المتمثل في الاعتراف باحتياجات الحماية المتزايدة والاستجابة لها في جميع أنحاء العالم، تجد المنظمات الإنسانية نفسها تواجه نقصًا في التمويل، مما يزيد من صعوبة مهمتها.

هذا هو السياق الذي التزمت فيه فرق من NP وSolidaritès International (SI) في مارس 2024 بدعم مجتمع Gelachol البعيد. ويهدف تعاوننا إلى تلبية احتياجات الحماية وتعزيز تماسك المجتمع وتحسين خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة.

الجهود المجتمعية للحفاظ على السلام 

عندما التقى NP وSI مع الرئيس المحلي، أبلغ أن المقاطعات خطت خطوات كبيرة لتجنب الصراع وتحسين ظروف السلامة للجميع، بما في ذلك العاملين في المجال الإنساني.

أبلغ زعيم محلي NP وSI أن الوضع العام مستقر وشدد على الحاجة إلى أنشطة إضافية حول السلام لتعزيز السلام بين المجتمعات في جيلاتشول بايام ومقاطعة أولانج ومقاطعة نيرول. 

"منذ آخر مرة أتيتم فيها [NP وSI] إلى هنا، كنا نتفاعل مع الناس من كل من Nyirol وUlang، ونستمع إلى بعضنا البعض ولكننا نريد السلام بيننا. لقد كنا نعيش على الحدود، وإذا لم نستمع لبعضنا البعض، فلن نتمكن من العيش في سلام. نريد مؤتمر سلام بيننا وبين أولانج ونيرول. " 

اجتمع زعيم مقاطعة نيرول للقاء زعماء جيلاتشول. وقد سمح ذلك للقادة بمناقشة ومعالجة القضايا الرئيسية بين مجتمعاتهم. وقال رئيس مقاطعة نيرول: "الوكالات الإنسانية هي الآن التي تربط الناس، فهي مثل الحكومة الآن، أرحب بفكرة عقد مؤتمر سلام بين نيرول وأولانج وجيلاتشول، وسنذهب أيضًا ونتحدث مع الوكالات الإنسانية الأخرى في نيرول حول هذه القضايا. من فضلك اذهب وأخبر الحكومة أننا نعيش الآن في سلام من خلال مبادرات السلام المجتمعي. " 

إن الوصول إلى نقطة تحسين العلاقات لم يكن بالأمر السهل، ولكن هناك حاجة إلى حوار أعمق بين المجموعات. إن فريق NP الخاص بنا في وضع جيد لمساعدة المجموعات في العمل نحو التعايش السلمي. من أجل بناء سلام مستدام بين هذه المقاطعات الثلاث، تقوم NP الآن بتنسيق مؤتمر سلام مع القادة والمسؤولين من Gelachol وNyirol وUlang.

وسط الوضع المزري، تسهيل وصول المساعدات الإنسانية

تعمل هذه المجتمعات من أجل السلام مع بعضها البعض بينما تواجه ظروفًا إنسانية قاسية: نقص الرعاية الطبية والغذاء والبنية التحتية.

ويواجه المرضى المصابون بأمراض خطيرة، بما في ذلك الطفل الذي يحتاج إلى النقل إلى مقاطعة باليت لمزيد من العلاج، تحديات بسبب نقص البنية التحتية للنقل والاتصالات. على الرغم من أن NP ليست منظمة طبية، إلا أنه يمكننا العمل على ربط الأشخاص الذين يقدمون الخدمات الطبية. وتمكن فريقنا من نقل الطبيب المحلي إلى منطقة بها إشارة هاتفية، مما مكنه من التواصل وشراء الخدمات لهؤلاء المرضى المصابين بأمراض خطيرة.

وأكد رئيس جيلاتشول: “نحن هنا نواجه حالة من الجوع. هنا في جيلاتشول، ليس لدينا شبكات - حتى لو كنت تتضور جوعًا، فلا توجد طريقة للتواصل مع أقاربك أو أصدقائك في أماكن أخرى لإخبارهم أنك تتضور جوعًا على أمل أن يتمكنوا من مساعدتك. لا يوجد طريق، نحن نزرع ولكن محاصيلنا تدمرها الآفات، ونحن نعيش فقط على الأسماك. الشخص الذي لا يأكل السمك لا يمكنه العثور على شيء يأكله هنا. إذا كنت تأكل السمك، فسيكون لديك ما تأكله هنا، فهو الطعام الوحيد الذي يمكنك العثور عليه هنا."

وكرر: “نحن بحاجة إلى الغذاء، نحتاج إلى القوارب، أو على الأقل إلى شبكات الصيد. نحن بحاجة إلى سقف لمشفانا، فالمرضى هنا ليس لديهم أي جناح للتمريض. نحن بحاجة إلى سياج للمدرسة المحلية، فالأطفال معرضون لخطر التجول خلال موسم الأمطار.

وهذه إحدى الفوائد العديدة لشراكتنا مع SI. من خلال العمل معًا للوصول إلى المجتمعات النائية، تتواجد SI معنا هناك، وتستمع إلى ما تحتاجه المجتمعات: تلتزم SI بمساعدة Gelachol في العديد من المشاريع، بما في ذلك أسقف المستشفيات، وسياج المدارس، والمراحيض المجتمعية.

تواجه جيلاتشول والمجتمعات المجاورة لها تحديات كبيرة، بما في ذلك انعدام الأمن الغذائي ومحدودية الوصول إلى الخدمات الأساسية. ومع ذلك، فإن الجهود المشتركة التي تبذلها المنظمات الإنسانية مثل NP وSI، جنبًا إلى جنب مع القادة والمجتمعات المحلية، توفر الأمل في التغيير الإيجابي. من خلال المبادرات التي تستهدف الحماية وتماسك المجتمع وتحسين الخدمة، تحقق NP وSI تقدمًا ملموسًا في Gelachol. ومع ذلك، فإن الدعم والتعاون المستمر ضروريان للحفاظ على هذا الزخم وضمان مستقبل أكثر إشراقًا لهذه المجتمعات.

* * * 

هذا النشاط هو جزء من مشروعنا مع Solidarités International (SI) لدعم مرونة المجتمع وإدارة النزاعات غير العنيفة في مناطق النزاع والفيضانات في ولايتي أعالي النيل وجونقلي ، جنوب السودان ، الذي يموله الاتحاد الأوروبي وداعمون مثلك. . 

يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

fbpx
Every dollar matched up to $50,000 until December 31! Give today.
Our SpeakUp® Mechanism
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

Gelachol Payam (South Sudan) Navigates Isolation, Hunger, and the Pursuit of Peace

Date: May 6, 2024

Gelachol is a township in Baliet County, Upper Nile State, and is mainly home to the Dinka community. Gelachol lies on the border between Ulang County and Nyirol County, predominantly inhabited by the Nuer community. Due to frequent violence, many displaced civilians from neighboring areas have turned to Gelachol to seek refuge, stability, and safety. However, Gelachol struggles to provide food sources for both the displaced civilians and native locals. 

Protection Mainstreaming during Solidaritès International (SI)'s distribution of farming and fishing tools in Lelo and Warjwok Malakal County. 15 May 2023.

Overcoming Obstacles and Reaching Remote Communities

In remote regions like Gelachol, humanitarian organizations face significant challenges in extending their reach. The township's isolation, far from the county center in Baliet and the state capital in Malakal, poses logistical hurdles compounded by the absence of mobile networks and poor road conditions. During the rainy season, these roads become completely impassable. In the past, humanitarian staff from other organizations have expressed concern about their safety. 

As the international community grapples with the challenge of recognizing and responding to growing protection needs worldwide, humanitarian organizations find themselves confronting funding shortages, making their task increasingly difficult.

This is the context in which, in March 2024, teams from NP and Solidaritès International (SI) committed to supporting the remote Gelachol community. Our collaboration aims to address protection needs, foster community cohesion, and improve water, sanitation, and hygiene services.

Communal Efforts to Sustain Peace 

When NP and SI met with the local Chief, he relayed that the counties have made significant strides to avoid conflict and improve safety conditions for all, including humanitarians.

A local chief informed NP and SI that the general situation was stable and he emphasized the need for additional activities around peace to reinforce peace between the communities in Gelachol Payam, Ulang County, and Nyirol County. 

“Since the last time you [NP and SI] came here, we’ve been interacting with people from both Nyirol and Ulang, we listen to each other but we want peace among us. We have been living at the border and if we do not listen to each other, we cannot live in peace, we want peace conference between us, Ulang, and Nyirol.” 

The chief from Nyirol County got together to meet with the chiefs of Gelachol. This allowed the leaders to discuss and address key issues between their communities. Nyirol County’s chief shared, “Humanitarian agencies are now the ones connecting people, they are like the government now, I welcome the idea of peace conference between Nyirol, Ulang, and Gelachol, we will also go and talk with other humanitarian agencies in Nyirol about these issues. Please go and tell the government that we are now living in peace through community peace initiatives.” 

Reaching the point of improved relations has been no easy feat, but there’s deeper dialogue needed amongst the groups. Our NP team is well-positioned to assist the groups in working toward peaceful coexistence. In order to build sustainable peace amongst these three counties, NP is now coordinating a peace conference with leaders and officials from Gelachol, Nyirol, and Ulang.

Amidst Dire Situation, Facilitating Humanitarian Access

These communities are working towards peace with one another while they face dire humanitarian conditions: lack of medical care, food, and infrastructure.

Critically ill patients, including a child that required a transfer to Baliet County for further treatment, face challenges due to lack of transportation and communication infrastructure. Although NP isn't a medical organization, we can work to connect people who provide medical services. Our team was able to transport the local doctor to an area with a phone signal, enabling him to reach out and procure services for these critically ill patients.

The Head Chief of Gelachol stressed, “We are here facing a situation of hunger. Here in Gelachol, we don’t have networks—even if you are starving, there is no way to reach out to your relatives or friends in other places to tell them that you are starving in hopes that they could help you. There is no road, we cultivate but our crops are destroyed by pests, we are only living by fish. Someone who does not eat fish cannot find something to eat here. If you eat fish, then you have something to eat here—it is the only food you can find here."

He reiterated: “We need food, we need boats, or at least fishing nets. We need roofing for our hospital, sick people here do not have any ward for nursing. We need fencing for the local school, children are at risk of wandering away during the rainy season.”

This is one of the many benefits of our partnership with SI. By working together to access remote communities, SI is right there with us, listening to what communities need: SI has committed to assisting Gelachol with various projects, including hospital roofing, school fencing, and community latrines.

Gelachol and its neighboring communities face significant challenges, including food insecurity and limited access to essential services. Yet, the combined efforts of humanitarian organizations like NP and SI, alongside local leaders and communities, offer hope for positive change. Through initiatives targeting protection, community cohesion, and service improvement, NP and SI are making meaningful progress in Gelachol. However, continued support and collaboration are essential to sustain this momentum and ensure a brighter future for these communities.

* * * 

This activity is a part of our project with Solidarités International (SI) to support community resilience and nonviolent conflict management in conflict and flood-affected areas of Upper Nile and Jonglei States, South Sudan, which is funded by the European Union and supporters like you. 

You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English