fbpx
Voir les événements à venir
Logo Nonviolent Peaceforce avec point bleuDonner

Votre impact

Trois protecteurs du NP et des civils sur la route

"Je veux changer la situation dans laquelle se trouvent les femmes. Je veux être la voix des femmes et de la paix", a déclaré Maypal, une femme qui dirige des activités de protection civile non armée à Lankien, au Soudan du Sud. Elle est membre d'une équipe de protection des femmes et voit l'impact direct de son travail. Suite à un plaidoyer réussi auprès du gouverneur concernant le déplacement des victimes des inondations, Maypal a fièrement noté, "Ma voix a été entendue."

La protection civile non armée est une approche de la protection des civils dans les conflits violents qui utilise des stratégies non violentes pour protéger les civils et interrompre les cycles de violence. Les pratiques de protection civile non armée sont mises en œuvre par des civils non armés, qui protègent leurs concitoyens civils. Il s'agit d'une suite de pratiques qui ont une applicabilité mondiale mais qui répondent au contexte local, avec des exemples efficaces de protection civile non armée utilisés dans divers contextes. Partout dans le monde, les civils mettent en œuvre la protection civile non armée avec un grand effet.

Études de cas

2022

2021

2020

2016 - 2019

 

2011 - 2015

UCP Changer le récit

Une nouvelle histoire de sécurité

Le monde doit être capable de raconter une histoire différente s'il veut survivre - une histoire d'interdépendance, de but et de suffisance, une civilisation axée sur la personne et la planète. Nous pensons qu'il est temps pour un changement similaire dans le domaine de la sécurité ; un domaine qui repose si fortement sur les murs et la technologie, conçu pour isoler ou éliminer les menaces, et permettre à quelques privilégiés de jouir de leur sécurité dans la séparation d'un autre déshumanisé. 

Nous croyons que l'UCP peut contribuer à un tel changement. UCP présente une nouvelle histoire de la sécurité, une histoire dans laquelle la sécurité peut être vécue grâce à une plus grande connectivité.
Femme du Sahel, souriante

Mariam,
le sahel

« Ce cours m'a permis de démystifier la protection des civils car je pensais que c'était l'apanage des seuls acteurs armés. Comprendre que cette protection doit être faite par des civils renforce mon désir d'y contribuer."

Femme de Mindanao parlant dans un microphone avec masque

Richelle,
Mindanao, Philippines

"En tant qu'artisan de la paix, je crois que ma voix peut être un outil pour aider mes co-jeunes et ma communauté vers la paix et le développement... J'ai maintenant confiance en ma capacité à diriger et à agir dans ma communauté."

Coucher du soleil par des tentes et des poteaux électriques le long d'un chemin de terre.

Un jeune homme,
Camp de personnes déplacées, Irak

"Nous avons appris que nous pouvons prévenir les problèmes si nous contrôlons nos sentiments lorsque nous nous sentons en colère, ce qui réduira ou préviendra la violence et le contrôle de nous-mêmes nous aidera à maintenir la relation entre nous."

Une personne dont les cheveux sont tirés en chignon bas accueille un collègue en se cognant les coudes. Elle porte un masque, des gants, un gilet NP et un microphone.

Aurore,
Minnesota, États-Unis

"Le travail que fait Nonviolent Peaceforce est non seulement nécessaire et utile, mais faire du bénévolat avec NP me donne également un endroit où je peux créer une communauté, ce qui est extrêmement important."

Nous savons depuis longtemps que la protection civile non armée fonctionne grâce aux témoignages des communautés et des équipes de terrain à travers le monde. En outre, les preuves publiées de la protection civile non armée en tant qu'approche viable et efficace sont solides et se renforcent de plus en plus. Les informations ci-dessous donnent un aperçu des recherches sur les pratiques de protection civile non armée dans divers contextes.

Recherche et évaluations

Recherches et rapports par NP

Recherche et rapports sur NP et UCP

Examens et évaluations de NP et UCP

Échantillonnage d'œuvres connexes

  • Felicity Gray (2022) 'La protection comme lien : théorie relationnelle féministe et protection des civils contre la violence au Soudan du Sud', Journal d'éthique mondiale 18(1): 152-170.
  • Jana Krause, Erin Kamler (2022) 'Cessez-le-feu et surveillance de la protection civile au Myanmar', Études mondiales trimestrielles 2(1).
  • Margaux Pinaud (2021) 'La paix locale : les rôles de la société civile dans la surveillance du cessez-le-feu', Maintien de la paix internationale 28(3): 470-495. 
  • Groupe de recherche sur le Congo (2020), Construire des relations, construire la paix : le rôle des civils et de la société civile dans la prévention des atrocités de masse en République démocratique du Congo, Washington DC : Musée commémoratif de l'Holocauste des États-Unis. 
  • Peris Jones et Wangui Kimari (2019) « La sécurité au-delà des hommes : les femmes et leur appareil de sécurité au quotidien à Mathare, Nairobi », Études urbaines 56(9): 1835-1849. 
  • Joseph Bock et al. (2019) Halte à la haine : comment utiliser le modèle d'interruption pour contrer la violence motivée par la haine, Association américaine d'arbitrage.  
  • Jana Krause (2018) Communautés résilientes : non-violence et agence civile dans la guerre communautaire, Cambridge : Cambridge University Press.  
  • Nerve Macaspac (2019) 'Insurgent Peace: Community-Led Peacebuilding of Indigenous Peoples in Sagada, Philippines', Géopolitique 24(4): 839-877. 
  • Olivier Kaplan (2017) Résister à la guerre : comment les communautés se protègent, Cambridge : Cambridge University Press.  
  • Véronique Dudouet (2017) Powering to Peace : Integrated Civil Resistance and Peacebuilding Strategies, Centre international sur les conflits non violents, vol. 1.  
  • Landon Hancock (2016) « Agence et consolidation de la paix : la promesse de zones locales de paix », Consolidation de la paix, 5(3), 255–269. 
  • Jeffrey A. Butts (et al.) (2015) « Guérir la violence : un modèle de santé publique pour réduire la violence armée », Examen annuel de la santé publique (36): 39–53. 
  • Georgi Engelbrecht et Vidushi Kaushik (2015) « Mécanismes de protection communautaires », Examen de la paix 27(1), 43–51. 
  • Sara Koopman (2014) « Faire de l'espace pour la paix : Accompagnement protecteur international en Colombie », dans F. McConnell, N. Megoran, & P. Williams (eds.),Géographies de la paix : nouvelles approches des frontières, de la diplomatie et de la résolution des conflits, Londres/New York : IB Tauris. 109–130. 

Documents de conférence

Actualités mensuelles

Informez-vous

Plus de 700 personnes dans plus de 10 pays ont formé 26 000 personnes à la protection civile non armée. Rejoignez-nous aujourd'hui pour construire une culture de paix mondiale dans plus de communautés et sur plusieurs générations - en tant que donateur, bénévole, membre d'une équipe ou chercheur indépendant. Inscrivez-vous maintenant pour recevoir des mises à jour sur les événements, le travail de NP sur le terrain, les opportunités de carrière, et plus encore.
S'ABONNER
flèche droite
Français

See upcoming events
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

Your Impact

Three NP protectors and civilians on road

"I want to change the situation that women are in. I want to be a voice of women and peace," reflected Maypal, a woman who leads unarmed civilian protection activities in Lankien, South Sudan. She is a member of a Women's Protection Team and sees the direct impact of her work. Following successful advocacy to the governer regarding displacement of flooding victims, Maypal proudly noted, "My voice was heard."

Unarmed Civilian Protection is an approach to the protection of civilians in violent conflict that utilises nonviolent strategies to protect civilians and interrupt cycles of violence. Practices of Unarmed Civilian Protection are implemented by unarmed civilians, who protect their fellow civilians. It is a suite of practices that have global applicability but are responsive to local context, with effective examples of Unarmed Civilian Protection utilised in diverse contexts. Across the world, civilians are implementing Unarmed Civilian Protection with great effect.

Case Studies

2022

2021

2020

2016 - 2019

 

2011 - 2015

UCP Shifting the narrative

A new story of security

The world needs to be able to tell a different story if it is to survive – a story of interdependence, purpose, and sufficiency, a person- and planet-oriented civilisation. We believe it is time for a similar shift in the field of security; a field that relies so heavily on walls and technology, designed to isolate, or eliminate threats, and allow the privileged few to enjoy their safety in separation from a dehumanised other. 

We believe that UCP can contribute to such a shift. UCP presents a new story of security, a story in which security can be experienced through greater connectivity.
Woman from Sahel, smiling

Mariam,
the Sahel

“This course allowed me to demystify the protection of civilians because I thought it was the prerogative of armed actors only.  Understanding that this protection must be done by civilians reinforces my desire to contribute to it."

Woman from Mindanao speaking into microphone with mask

Richelle,
Mindanao, Philippines

"As a peacebuilder, I believe that my voice can be a tool in helping my co-youth and community towards peace and development ... I’m now confident in my capacity to lead and act in my community."

Sunset by tents and electrical poles alongside a dirt road.

A young man,
IDP Camp, Iraq

“We learned that we can prevent problems if we control our feeling when we feel angry and this will reduce or prevent violence as well as controlling ourselves helps us maintain the relationship among each other.”

Person with her hair pulled into a low bun greets a colleague by bumping elbows. She wears a mask, gloves, an NP vest, and a microphone.

Aurora,
Minnesota, U.S.

“The work that Nonviolent Peaceforce is doing is not only needed and helpful, but volunteering with NP also gives me a place where I am able to create community, which is incredibly important.”

We’ve known for a long time that Unarmed Civilian Protection works because of the testimonies of communities and field teams around the world. In addition, the published evidence for Unarmed Civilian Protection as a viable and effective approach is strong, and growing stronger. The below provide an overview of research on Unarmed Civilian Protection practices across a range of contexts.

Research and Evaluations

Research and Reports by NP

  • Civilian Protection Needs & Responses in Ukraine | Ukraine | 2022
    Key conclusions from the assessment conducted by NP and makes recommendations on emergency and future protection programming in Ukraine. 
    Preliminary Findings (May 2022)
    Kharkiv Snapshot (June 2022)

  • Gaps in Formal Education in Iraq | Iraq | December 2021
    A research study conducted by the Education Consortium of Iraq (ECI) – comprised of the Norwegian Refugee Council, Save the Children, Mercy Corps, and NP– has identified areas to improve in education infrastructure, personnel, and reintegration of students into the formal system across six governorates.
    Link to the Report

  • Building Peace Changing Lives: Role and Participation of Women in Peace and Security in Myanmar, Philippines and Thailand | Philippines | March 23, 2021
    This study, conducted by NP Philippines in collaboration with the Canada Fund for Local Initiatices (CFLI). This study presents lessons learned and conclusions to highlight the significant gains of women peacebuilding and emphasize the need for concrete actions to implement and institutionalize WPS agenda in the three countries in particular and in ASEAN in general. 
    Link to the Report

  • Women Contributing to Peace | Myanmar | March 6, 2019
    The study, conducted NP in partnership with the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), collected data from August 2018 to January 2019. The map, intended as a quick guide, lists 674 women from 383 organizations who contribute to peace building.
    Link: Electronic copies of the maps, along with additional information about women contributing to peace in Myanmar
    Link: Press release from U.S. Embassy in Burma

  • In Support of Ceasefire Monitoring. A Guide for Liaison Officers (Burmese) | Myanmar | September 2016 
    This handbook is designed and led by NPand includes the lessons learned from the courses provided between June 2015 and April 2016. During this time, Nonviolent Peaceforce conducted nine total trainings in collaboration with the Karen National Union (KNU); Shan State Rehabilitation Council (RCSS); and Pa-O National Liaison Officer, Liberation Organization (PNLO) Liaison Office.
    Link to the handbook

Research and Reports on NP and UCP

Reviews and Evaluations of NP and UCP

Sampling of Related Works

  • Felicity Gray (2022) Protection as connection: feminist relational theory and protecting civilians from violence in South Sudan, Journal of Global Ethics, 18:1, 152-170.
  • Margaux Pinaud (2021) ‘Home-Grown Peace: Civil Society Roles in Ceasefire Monitoring’, International Peacekeeping 28(3): 470-495. 
  • Congo Research Group (2020), Building Relationships, Building Peace: The Role of Civilians and Civil Society in Preventing Mass Atrocities in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Washington D.C.: United State Holocaust Memorial Museum. 
  • Peris Jones and Wangui Kimari (2019) ‘Security beyond the men: Women and their everyday security apparatus in Mathare, Nairobi’, Urban Studies 56(9): 1835-1849. 
  • Joseph Bock et al. (2019) Halting Hate: How to Use the Interruption Model to Counter Hate-Motivated Violence, American Arbitration Association.  
  • Jana Krause (2018) Resilient Communities: Non-Violence and Civilian Agency in Communal War, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.  
  • Nerve Macaspac (2019) ‘Insurgent Peace: Community-Led Peacebuilding of Indigenous Peoples in Sagada, Philippines’, Geopolitics 24(4): 839-877. 
  • Oliver Kaplan (2017) Resisting War: How Communities Protect Themselves, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.  
  • Veronique Dudouet (2017) Powering to Peace: Integrated Civil Resistance and Peacebuilding Strategies, International Center on Nonviolent Conflict, vol. 1.  
  • Landon Hancock (2016) ‘Agency and peacebuilding: The promise of local zones of peace’, Peacebuilding, 5(3), 255–269. 
  • Jeffrey A. Butts (et al.) (2015) ‘Cure violence: A public health model to reduce gun violence’, Annual Review of Public Health (36): 39–53. 
  • Georgi Engelbrecht and Vidushi Kaushik (2015) ‘Community-based protection mechanisms’, Peace Review 27(1), 43–51. 
  • Sara Koopman (2014) ‘Making space for peace: International protective accompaniment in Colombia’, in F. McConnell, N. Megoran, & P. Williams (eds.), Geographies of peace: New approaches to boundaries, diplomacy and conflict resolution, London/New York: IB Tauris. 109–130. 

Conference documentation

Monthly Newsletter

Stay Informed

More than 700 people across 10+ countries have traine 26,000 individuals in unarmed civilian protection. Join us today to build a culture of global peace in more communities and across multiple generations — as a donor, a volunteer, a team member, or an independent researcher. Sign-up now to receive updates on events, NP’s work on the ground, career opportunities, and more.
SUBSCRIBE
arrow-right
English