fbpx
كل دولار يصل إلى $50،000 حتى 31 ديسمبر! تبرع اليوم.
آلية SpeakUp® الخاصة بنا
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءتبرع

في العراق ، الأطفال هم وكلاء السلام

التاريخ: 3 مايو/أيار 2023 22 ديسمبر 2022
أطفال من نادي السلام في جدة 5 مخيم للنازحين ، العراق. في أكتوبر 2022 ، أقامت NP إطلاقًا رسميًا ، حيث قدم الفريق رسميًا نادي سلام الأطفال للمجتمع بأكمله.

العديد من الصراعات بين الأطفال ، مثل المضايقة أو التنمر ، يمكن أن يتصاعد بسرعة إلى مواجهات جسدية بين عائلاتهم البالغة. وهذا يعني ، في كثير من الأحيان ، أن النزاع بين الأطفال يمكن أن يهدد سلامة مخيم النزوح بأكمله إذا خرج عن السيطرة.

لكن الصراع بين الأطفال لا يجب أن يتصاعد ، يمكن للأطفال أن يكونوا عملاء للسلام. لذلك ، عندما لجأ المجتمع إلى NP للحصول على الدعم ، عمل فريق NP على تصميم منهج متخصص للأطفال. من خلال تشكيل نادي سلام للأطفال ، تعلم الأولاد والبنات حل المشكلات وحل النزاعات وتدخل البلطجة ورواية القصص المجتمعية. حتى أن NP ساعدت مجموعة الأطفال في تصميم شعار النادي الخاص بهم!

شارك ما مجموعه 40 طفلاً (20 فتى و 20 فتاة) تتراوح أعمارهم بين 12 و 16 عامًا في نادي سلام الأطفال. يأتي هؤلاء الأطفال من خلفيات متنوعة: الأطفال ذوو الاحتياجات الخاصة ، والأطفال من الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض ، والأطفال الذين لا يستطيعون الوصول إلى التعليم الرسمي ، والأطفال الذين ليس لديهم وثائق قانونية.

التغيير للأطفال وأسرهم

خلال التدريبات وبعد الانتهاء منها ، عبرت أسر الأطفال عن سعادتها بالتغييرات الإيجابية التي طرأت على أطفالهم.

نمو شخصية أحمد

تعرض أحد الأطفال ، وهو أحمد * ، للتنمر من قبل زملائه في الفصل لدرجة أنه كاد يُطرد من المدرسة. كما أدين بالتحرش اللفظي بالنساء في المخيم. منذ انضمامه إلى نادي سلام الأطفال ، أبلغت أخت أحمد وخالته عن رؤية نمو إيجابي هائل في شخصيته.

تلاحظ عائلته أن إحساس أحمد بالمسؤولية تجاه مشاركة ما تعلمه مع الآخرين في المخيم كان له تأثير كبير. أوضحوا أنه كلما عاد أحمد إلى المنزل من الجلسات ، فإنه دائمًا ما يكون متحمسًا لمشاركة كل ما تعلمه مع عائلته.

"أنا سعيد جدًا لأنني جزء من نادي السلام للأطفال ولا أطيق انتظار يوم حفل التخرج لمجموعتنا والبدء في ممارسة ما تعلمناه ومشاركته مع الأطفال الآخرين ".

- أحمد عضو نادي السلام للأطفال

مهارات فاطمة المكتشفة حديثًا وثقتها

فاطمة * ، فتاة شابة ، كانت تتطلع إلى الانضمام إلى نادي السلام للأطفال منذ اللحظة التي سمعت فيها عن ذلك. ثم شجعتها والدتها على حضور الجلسات - لقد وثقت في NP وكانت على دراية بالموظفين ، لذلك عرفت أن فاطمة ستكون في مكان آمن أثناء التدريبات.

لكن والدة فاطمة شاركت ذلك ، والأهم من ذلك: "أريد أن تثق ابنتي بنفسها ويمكنني أن أوضح مدى تأثير ذلك عليها بشكل إيجابي. أنا سعيد بقراري وممتن للفرصة التي أتيحت لابنتي ، وأنا متأكد من أن هذا سيفيدها في المستقبل ". الآن ، تستخدم فاطمة ثقتها لإحداث فرق لها ولأسرتها ومجتمعها.

"قبل حضور الجلسات مع NP ، كنت أقضي معظم وقتي داخل الخيمة لا أفعل شيئًا سوى الأعمال المنزلية والدراسة. لهذا السبب أنا سعيد جدًا لأنني كنت جزءًا من نادي السلام للأطفال لأنني أتيحت لي الفرصة للقيام بشيء مفيد وتعلم أشياء جديدة مثيرة للاهتمام وتكوين صداقات جديدة. لقد تعلمت الكثير عن حقوق الطفل واكتسبت الكثير من المهارات الشخصية مثل حل المشكلات. أتطلع إلى موعد بدء نادي السلام رسميًا حتى يتمكن أصدقائي الآخرون من الاستفادة من جميع المعلومات والخبرات التي اكتسبتها ".

-فاطمة عضو نادي السلام للأطفال

سلام محمد الداخلي

اعتاد الصبي الصغير ، محمد * ، أن يكون عدوانيًا للغاية مع إخوته الصغار وكان يضربهم أو يضربهم أحيانًا. ومع ذلك ، منذ حضور الجلسات ، توقف عن استخدام العنف الجسدي ضدهم. لاحظت جدة محمد تطور الشخصية والنضج في حفيدها.

أعربت جدتها بفخر ، "لقد جعلني تغيير سلوك محمد سعيدًا وممتنًا للغاية لأنه جزء من نادي سلام الأطفال مع NP!" شاركت أيضًا أن محمد أصبح أكثر سلامًا في حياته اليومية ويقضي وقتًا أطول في الترابط بشكل هادف مع عائلته ، وهي النقطة التي أعارها أساتذته.

"أحببت حضور الجلسات لأنهم جميعًا كانوا يناقشون تقنيات شيقة وجديدة لم أكن أعرف أبدًا إعجابي بها حول حل المشكلات وتخطيط المخاطر. على سبيل المثال ، رأيت ذات مرة بعض الأطفال يلعبون في الظلام بجوار صندوق كهربائي وكانوا يتسلقون السياج ويقفزون منه. بسبب جلسة تخطيط المخاطر ، نصحتهم بمغادرة هذه المنطقة واللعب في مكان آخر لأنهم قد يتعرضون للأذى ".

-محمد عضو نادي السلام للأطفال

تحفيز نور وتمكينه

فتاة أخرى ، نور * ، لم تكن نشطة للغاية وكان لديها القليل من الطاقة في كثير من الأحيان قبل الانضمام إلى نادي السلام للأطفال. لكن منذ أن أصبحت عضوة في النادي ، لاحظت والدة نور زيادة حماسها وإيجابية.

قالت والدة نور: "نحن فخورون بها لأننا نؤمن بأن للفتيات حقوق مثل الفتيان ، وهي بحاجة إلى هذه الدفعة لكسب المزيد من الثقة". بدأت نور أيضًا في اكتشاف وكالتها الخاصة ، على الرغم من إخبارها في كثير من الأحيان بأنها لم تنجب أيًا منها وهي طفلة.

"اعتدت أن أكون متشائمًا جدًا وأعتقد أنه لا يوجد أمل للبشرية ، لكن الآن لدي نظرة أكثر تفاؤلاً للحياة. أشعر بمسؤولية أكبر الآن ، لأنني إذا أردت أن يكون المجتمع أفضل ، فأنا بحاجة إلى القيام بشيء حيال ذلك وقد ساعدني NP في ذلك. بدأت بالتدخل عندما يكون هناك أي نزاع بين أصدقائي. أنا أدافع عن أي فتاة تتعرض للتنمر وأحاول إيقاف أي تنمر وأتفهم مصدر هذا السلوك وأعرض المساعدة."

-نور ، عضوة نادي السلام للأطفال

ما التالي لنادي السلام للأطفال؟

صبي يجلس بجانب مقدم الرعاية أثناء حديثهما مع أحد موظفي NP.
حتى أن الأطفال بدأوا في طلب التوجيه من NP في الفترات الفاصلة بين جلساتهم الأسبوعية للمساعدة في الاستجابة لمعضلات زملائهم في المدرسة. صبي يجلس بجانب مقدم الرعاية أثناء حديثهما مع أحد موظفي NP.

منذ افتتاحه ، انضم نادي سلام الأطفال إلى موظفي NP في الأنشطة ، ودافع عن ممارسات الحماية بين الأطفال ، وإظهار دعمهم لبرامج NP في مخيم جدة 5 للنازحين.

حتى أن الأطفال بدأوا في طلب التوجيه من NP في الفترات الفاصلة بين جلساتهم الأسبوعية للمساعدة في الاستجابة لمعضلات زملائهم في المدرسة. وجد الضباط أنفسهم أيضًا يدعمون الأطفال الذين تعرضوا للتنمر وإجراء محادثات مفتوحة حول سبب عدم قبول التنمر.

دعا أعضاء النادي 20 طفلًا آخر من جميع قطاعات المخيم للانضمام إلى مشاركة تمهيدية وتواصل مع الأطفال الآخرين.

بدعمك ، للمضي قدمًا ، ستواصل NP تدريب نادي سلام الأطفال وتقديم الدعم بتدريب أعضائه الجدد. في وقت لاحق ، مع نمو وتطور ثقة الأطفال ، سينضمون إلى NP لإجراء مناقشات وفعاليات مع أولياء الأمور والمعلمين والمجتمع الأوسع ليكونوا مناصرين لمخاوف الأطفال في المخيم.


* تم تغيير الأسماء لحماية هوية الأطفال المعنيين.

انظر دراسة الحالة الكاملة هنا.

يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

fbpx
Every dollar matched up to $50,000 until December 31! Give today.
See upcoming events
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

In Iraq, Children Are Agents of Peace

Date: December 22, 2022
Children from the Peace Club in Jeddah 5 IDP Camp, Iraq. In October 2022, NP held an official launch, where the team officially introduced the Children’s Peace Club to the entire community.

Many conflicts between kids, like teasing or bullying, can quickly escalate to physical confrontations between their adult families. This means that, oftentimes, children can risk the safety of an entire displacement camp if it gets out of hand.

But children aren't just a source of conflict: they can also be agents of peace. So, when the community turned to NP for support, the NP team got to work designing a specialized curriculum for the children. By forming a Children's Peace Club, boys and girls learned problem-solving, conflict resolution, bullying intervention, and community storytelling. NP even helped the children's group design their very own club logo!

A total of 40 kids (20 boys and 20 girls) ages 12-16 participated in the Children's Peace Club. These children come from diverse backgrounds: children with disabilities, children from lower-income families, children who can't access formal education, and children who don't have legal documents.

Change for Children and their Families

Throughout the trainings and after their completion, the children's families expressed how pleased they are with the positive changes in their children.

Ahmed's Character Growth

One child, Ahmed*, previously bullied classmates to the point where he was nearly expelled from school. He was also guilty of verbally harassing women in the camp. Since joining the Children's Peace Club, Ahmed's sister and aunt report seeing tremendous positive character growth in him.

His family notes that Ahmed's sense of responsibility to share his learnings with others in the camp has made a big impact. They explained that, whenever Ahmed returns home from the sessions, he's always excited to share everything he's learned with his family.

I am very happy that I am a part of the Children’s Peace Club and I can’t wait for the day of the graduation ceremony for our group and start practicing what we have learned and share it with other children.”

-Ahmed, Member of the Boys’ Children’s Peace Club

Fatema's Newfound Skills and Confidence

Fatema*, a young girl, looked forward to joining the Children's Peace Club from the moment she heard about it. Her mother then encouraged her to attend the sessions—she trusted NP and was familiar with the staff, so she knew Fatema would be in a safe place during the trainings.

But, Fatema's mother shared that, more importantly: “I want my daughter to have more confidence in herself and I can tell how positively it's affected her. I’m happy with my decision and grateful for the opportunity my daughter had and I’m sure this will benefit her in the future.” Now, Fatema is using her confidence to make a difference for herself, her family, and her community.

“Before attending the sessions with NP, I used to spend most of my time inside the tent doing nothing but house chores and studying. That’s why I’m so happy that I was part of the Children’s Peace Club because I got the chance to do something useful, learn new interesting things and make new friends. I learnt a lot about child’s rights and gained a lot of personal skills like problem solving. I’m looking forward to when the peace club officially starts so that my other friends can benefit from all the information and experiences I’ve gained.”

-Fatema, Member of the Girls’ Children’s Peace Club

Mohammed's Inner Peace

A young boy named, Mohammed*, used to be very aggressive with his younger siblings and occasionally hit or beat them. However, since attending the sessions, he’s stopped using physical violence against them. Mohammed's grandmother noticed character development and maturity in her grandson.

Her grandmother proudly expressed, "Mohammed's behavior change has made me so happy and grateful that he is a part of the Children’s Peace Club with NP!” She also shared that Mohammed has become much more peaceful in his daily life and spends more time meaningfully bonding with his family, a point which his teachers seconded.

I loved attending the sessions because they were all discussing interesting and new techniques that I never knew like about problem solving and risk mapping. For instance, one time I saw some children were playing in the dark next to an electrical box and were climbing the fence and jumping off it. Because of the risk mapping session, I advised them to leave this area and play somewhere else because they might get hurt.”

-Mohammed, Member of the Boys’ Children’s Peace Club

Nour's Motivation and Empowerment

Another young girl, Nour*, wasn't very active and often had little energy before joining the Children's Peace Club. But, since becoming a member of the club, Nour's mother observed Nour's increase in motivation and positivity.

Nour's mother expressed, “we’re proud of her because we believe girls have rights just as boys and she needed this push to gain more confidence.” Nour has also begun discovering her own agency, despite often being told she didn't have any as a child—and a girl.

"I used to be very pessimistic and think that there’s no hope for humanity, but now I have a more optimistic view of life. I feel more responsible now, because if I want the community to be better, I need to do something about it and NP helped me with that. I started to intervene when there are any conflicts between my friends. I defend any girl who’s being bullied and try to stop any bullying and understand where this behavior is coming from and offer to assist and help.

-Nour, Member of the Girls’ Children’s Peace Club

What's Next for the Children's Peace Club?

A boy sits beside his caregiver while they are speaking with an NP staff member.
Children have even begun seeking guidance from NP in-between their weekly sessions to help with responding to classmate dilemmas at school. A boy sits beside his caregiver while they are speaking with an NP staff member.

Since its inauguration, the Children’s Peace Club has joined NP staff in activities, championing protection practices among children, and showing their support of NP’s programming in Jeddah 5 IDP Camp.

Children have even begun seeking guidance from NP in-between their weekly sessions to help with responding to classmate dilemmas at school. Officers also found themselves supporting children who were being bullied and having open conversations about why bullying is unacceptable.

The club members have invited 20 other children from all the camp’s sectors to join in an introductory engagement and outreach with other children.

With your support, going forward, NP will continue to coach the Children's Peace Club and extend support with the training of its newest members. Later, as the children's confidence grows and develops, they will join NP for discussions and events with parents, teachers, and the wider community to be advocates for children’s concerns in the camp.


*Names changed to protect the identities of the children involved.

See the full case study here.

You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English