انظر الأحداث القادمة
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءيتبرع

NP Advocacy Lead يفوز بجائزة للنشر الجديد

تاريخ: 27 مايو 2022

فازت فيليسيتي جراي ، قائدة NP Advocacy ، بجائزة النشر الجديد ، مما أدى إلى تطوير مجال البحث لحماية المدنيين غير المسلحين. 

مقالتها ، R2P العلائقية؟ الوقاية والحماية بقيادة المدنيين من الجرائم الفظيعة، حصل أيضًا على جائزة Edward C. Luck الافتتاحية.

انظر المزيد في المقتطف من الجامعة الوطنية الأستراليةحيث تكمل فيليسيتي رسالة الدكتوراه:

مسؤولية الحماية - المعروفة باسم R2P - هي معيار دولي يسعى إلى ضمان عدم فشل المجتمع الدولي مرة أخرى في وقف جرائم الإبادة الجماعية وجرائم الحرب والتطهير العرقي والجرائم ضد الإنسانية. تعيد مقالة فيليسيتي التفكير في كيفية فهمنا للمسؤولية عن الحماية ، والابتعاد عن شيء خارجي وحول `` إنقاذ الغرباء '' ، بدلاً من النظر في الطرق التي يعمل بها الأشخاص والمجتمعات التي تعاني من نزاع عنيف بالفعل معًا لمنع الفظائع وحماية بعضهم البعض.

استنادًا إلى أكثر من 18 شهرًا من البحث الميداني الذي تم إجراؤه على مدار فترة الدكتوراه ، تعتمد ورقة فيليسيتي على الفهم من عام إضافي قضته في العمل في مجال الحماية في جنوب السودان أثناء الوباء. خلال فترة وجودها هناك ، أقامت علاقات شخصية وثيقة مع العديد من أفراد المجتمع الذين يقومون بنفس أعمال حماية المدنيين غير المسلحة بقيادة المجتمع.

"غالبًا ما نتحدث عن الوقاية من الفظائع والحماية كنظرية ، وهذه الورقة هي محاولة لإظهار ، مع مجموعة من الأمثلة ، كيف يمكن أن يبدو هذا في الممارسة" ، كما تقول.

"أنا ممتن لما تعلمته من المجتمعات حول الحماية ، ويشرفني أن أكون قادرًا على تكثيف جهودهم في هذه الورقة."

كانت فيليسيتي ممتنة لتمكنها من مشاركة أبحاثها مع المجتمع الأكاديمي الأوسع.

"أنا ممتن ويشرفني الاعتراف بأهمية هذا البحث من خلال جائزة إدوارد سي لاك. لقد تعلمت الكثير من المجتمعات في جنوب السودان باستخدام الحماية المدنية غير المسلحة لحماية أنفسهم وبعضهم البعض ، ومن المثير أن أكون قادرًا على مشاركة هذه الدروس مع المجتمع الأكاديمي من خلال المجلة والجائزة ".

ُقد جائزة إدوارد سي لاك للباحثين المهنيين في وقت مبكر - المسؤولية العالمية للحماية (GRP) على شرف البروفيسور الراحل إدوارد سي. لاك ، الذي عمل كمستشار خاص للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بشأن RTP حيث كان له دور فعال في تطوير مفهوم المسؤولية عن الحماية وتنفيذها.

يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

See upcoming events
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

NP Advocacy Lead Wins Award for New Publication

Date: May 27, 2022

Felicity Gray, NP Advocacy Lead, wins award for new publication, advancing the field of research for unarmed civilian protection. 

Her article, Relational R2P? Civilian-Led Prevention and Protection against Atrocity Crimes, has was also awarded the inaugural Edward C. Luck Prize.

See more in the excerpt from the Australian National University, where Felicity is completing her PhD:

The Responsibility to Protect – known as R2P – is an international norm that seeks to ensure that the international community never again fails to halt the mass atrocity crimes of genocide, war crimes, ethnic cleansing and crimes against humanity. Felicity’s article rethinks how we understand the R2P, moving away from something external and about ‘saving strangers’, to instead look at the ways that people and communities experiencing violent conflict already work together to prevent atrocities and protect one another.

Based on over 18-months of field research conducted over the course of her PhD, Felicity’s paper draws on understanding from an additional year she spent working in protection in South Sudan during the pandemic. During her time there, she formed close personal relationships with the many community members doing the same community-led unarmed civilian protection work.

“Often, we talk about atrocity prevention and protection as theory, and this paper is an effort to show, with a range of examples, what this can look like in practice,” she says.

“I’m grateful for what I have learned from communities about protection, and it’s an honour to be able to amplify their efforts in this paper.”

Felicity was thankful to be able to share her research with the wider academic community.

“I’m grateful and honoured to have the importance of this research recognised through the Edward C. Luck Prize. I have learned so much from communities in South Sudan using unarmed civilian protection to protect themselves and each other, and it’s exciting to be able to share these lessons with the academic community through the journal and the award.”

The Edward C. Luck Prize for Early Career Researchers - Global Responsibility to Protect (GRP) was established in honour of the late Professor Edward C. Luck, who served as the Special Advisor to the United Nations Secretary-General on the RTP where he was instrumental in developing the concept and implementation of R2P.

You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English