fbpx
كل دولار يصل إلى $50،000 حتى 31 ديسمبر! تبرع اليوم.
آلية SpeakUp® الخاصة بنا
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءتبرع

أكثر من 70 منظمة تطالب بالمساءلة من خلال المساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية في العمليات الإسرائيلية

التاريخ: 11 يناير 2024

في أعقاب أشهر من الاضطرابات في غزة والضفة الغربية، هناك دعوة ملحة لإجراء مناقشة حول الدور الأمريكي في دعم العمليات الإسرائيلية، مع إثارة المخاوف بشأن الانتهاك المحتمل للقانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الدولي.

قامت لجنة الأصدقاء للتشريعات الوطنية ومركز المدنيين في الصراعات بحشد تحالف يضم أكثر من 70 منظمة، مما يؤكد نداءنا في رسالة إلى الكونجرس. تحث الرسالة المشرعين على تأييد القرار S.Res.504، وهو القرار الذي قدمه السيناتور بيرني ساندرز بموجب المادة 502ب(ج) من قانون المساعدة الخارجية. 

ويفرض القرار على وزارة الخارجية تقديم تقرير شامل حول ممارسات إسرائيل في مجال حقوق الإنسان واستخدام المساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية في المنطقة. ويمنح التصويت الأسبوع المقبل الكونجرس فرصة حاسمة لفحص ما إذا كانت المساعدات الأمريكية تستخدم بما يتماشى مع القانون الدولي والقانون الأمريكي.


11 يناير 2024

عزيزي أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ،

نحن، المنظمات الموقعة أدناه، نحثكم على المشاركة في الرعاية والتصويت لصالحها S.Res.504، قرار السيناتور بيرني ساندرز بموجب القسم 502ب(ج) من قانون المساعدة الخارجية (22 USC § 2304) الذي يتطلب تقديم تقرير عن ممارسات إسرائيل في مجال حقوق الإنسان والمساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية لإسرائيل. وبعد أشهر من الدمار في غزة، هناك حاجة ملحة لإجراء نقاش جدي حول الدعم الأمريكي للعمليات الإسرائيلية في غزة والضفة الغربية، بما في ذلك إلى أي مدى يمكن أن تدعم المساعدات العسكرية الأمريكية انتهاكات القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الدولي.

رداً على الهجمات المروعة التي شنتها حماس في 7 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر، شنت إسرائيل حملة عسكرية الناتج في مقتل أكثر من 20 ألف فلسطيني في غزة تقريباً 70 في المئة منهم النساء والأطفال. السيناتور ساندرز مؤخرا اتصل إن قصف غزة "ليس مجرد كارثة إنسانية، بل فظائع جماعية. ويتم ذلك باستخدام القنابل والمعدات التي تنتجها وتقدمها الولايات المتحدة ويدعمها دافعو الضرائب الأمريكيون بشكل كبير". معلن أن إسرائيل منخرطة في “قصف عشوائي”.

وقد قامت منظمات حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك منظمة العفو الدولية وهيومن رايتس ووتش موثقة فظيعة الانتهاكات من القانون الإنساني الدولي من جانب حماس والجيش الإسرائيلي. إن الفظائع التي ارتكبتها حماس يوم 7 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر - فضلاً عن استمرارها في احتجاز الرهائن وإطلاق الصواريخ على إسرائيل - لا تعفي إسرائيل من مسؤوليتها عن حماية شعبها بطريقة تتفق مع القانون الإنساني الدولي. ولكن بينما يدمر الهجوم الإسرائيلي غزة، بما في ذلك من خلال الحصار الإسرائيلي، تواصل الولايات المتحدة توفير تدفق مستمر من المساعدات الإنسانية. القنابل, صواريخ, طائرات بدون طيار, قذائف مدفعية، و ذخيرة - الجميع فيما يبدو بدون شروط. حتى أن إدارة بايدن تجاوزت إشراف الكونجرس من خلال سلطة النقل الطارئة. على الرغم من أن التحقيقات كشفت عن جرائم حرب محتملة ارتكبتها القوات الإسرائيلية، إلا أن وزارة الخارجية فعلت ذلك اعترف أنها لم تقم بتقييم مدى امتثال إسرائيل للقانون الدولي طوال فترة النزاع.

يوفر القرار S.Res.504 فرصة للتأكيد على أهمية الكونغرس الدور الرقابيويكلف إدارة بايدن بتوثيق أي انتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان ترتكبها الحكومة الإسرائيلية والإبلاغ عنها. يجب على الكونجرس التأكد من أن عمليات نقل الأسلحة والمساعدات العسكرية المقدمة لإسرائيل، أو أي دولة أخرى، تتوافق مع القانون والسياسة الأمريكية، والقانون الدولي، ومسؤوليات حماية المدنيين. وسيكون القرار خطوة مهمة نحو تحقيق هذه الأهداف.

وبعد موافقة مجلس الشيوخ، سيتطلب هذا القرار تقديم تقرير من وزارة الخارجية حول ممارسات إسرائيل في مجال حقوق الإنسان خلال ثلاثين يومًا. ومن شأن القرار والمناقشة التي يولدها أن يفتحا الباب أمام إجراءات متابعة محتملة من جانب الكونجرس.

يقف الكونجرس عند لحظة محورية. لقد طال انتظار مجلس الشيوخ لإجراء تصويت عام ومناقشة حول تواطؤ الولايات المتحدة في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الإسرائيلية ضد الفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون تحت الاحتلال والقصف، وإعادة تأكيد صلاحيات الكونغرس الرقابية على سياسة نقل الأسلحة الأمريكية والسياسة الخارجية. نحن، المنظمات الموقعة أدناه، نؤيد هذا القرار ونحث جميع أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ على المشاركة في رعاية القرار والتصويت لصالحه S.Res.504.

بإخلاص،

فيلق العمل

تحالف المعمدانيين

الاتحاد الأمريكي رام الله، فلسطين

لجنة خدمة الأصدقاء الأمريكية

أمريكيون من أجل السلام الآن

منظمة العفو الدولية الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

Antiwar.com

اللجنة الوطنية الأرمنية الأمريكية

جمعية مراقبة الأسلحة

افاز

حملة من أجل السلام ونزع السلاح والأمن المشترك

مركز كارولينا للسلام

مركز المدنيين في الصراع

مركز السياسة الدولية

مركز اللاعنف اليهودي

مركز ضحايا التعذيب

كنيسة الأخوة ، مكتب بناء السلام والسياسة

خدمة عالم الكنيسة

كنائس من أجل السلام في الشرق الأوسط

كودبينك

CommonDefense.us

مجتمع المسيح

فرق صانعي السلام المجتمعية

ديلاوير من أجل حقوق الإنسان الفلسطيني

المطالبة بإجراءات التقدم

الديمقراطية في العالم العربي الآن

الاشتراكيون الديمقراطيون في أمريكا

الكنيسة الإنجيلية اللوثرية في أمريكا

زمالة المصالحة

شبكة عمل الفرنسيسكان

الحرية إلى الأمام

لجنة الأصدقاء للتشريعات الوطنية (FCNL)

أصدقاء سبيل أمريكا الشمالية (FOSNA)

الوزارات العالمية للكنيسة المسيحية (تلاميذ المسيح) وكنيسة المسيح المتحدة

حركة IfNotNow

غير قابل للتجزئة

معهد دراسات السياسات مشروع الأممية الجديدة

شبكة عمل المجتمع المدني الدولي (آيكان)

السياسة الخارجية فقط

إرث الحرب

المعهد الليبرالي

مادري

مكتب Maryknoll للمخاوف العالمية

مركز الشرق الأوسط للديمقراطية (MEDC) إعلام جذور المهاجرين

مشروع مينيسوتا للسلام

صندوق عمل التغيير MPower

المجلس الوطني للكنائس

عمل المجلس الوطني الإيراني الأمريكي

منظمة اللاعنف الدولية

قوة السلام دون عنف (NP)

أوكسفام أمريكا

باكس كريستي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

عمل السلام

الكنيسة المشيخية (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) مكتب الشاهد العام

معهد كوينسي لفن الحكم المسؤول

مركز كيشوت

مؤسسة راشيل كوري للسلام

إعادة التفكير في السياسة الخارجية

موقع RootsAction.org

Saferworld

راهبات الرحمة في الأمريكتين - فريق العدالة

نزلاء

الكنيسة الأسقفية

كنيسة ريفرسايد في مدينة نيويورك

الحملة الأمريكية من أجل حقوق الفلسطينيين

المجلس الفلسطيني الأمريكي

متحدون من أجل السلام والعدالة

الكنيسة الميثودية المتحدة – المجلس العام للكنيسة والمجتمع

واشنطن تدافع عن حقوق الفلسطينيين

انتصر بدون حرب

نساء من أجل شفافية تجارة الأسلحة

حزب الأسر العاملة

مؤسسة اليمن للإغاثة وإعادة الإعمار

لجنة التحالف اليمني

تحميل الرسالة أدناه:

يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

fbpx
Every dollar matched up to $50,000 until December 31! Give today.
Our SpeakUp® Mechanism
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

70+ Orgs Push for Accountability with U.S. Military Aid in Israeli Operations

Date: January 11, 2024

In the wake of months of turmoil in Gaza and the West Bank, there is a pressing call for a discussion on the U.S. role in supporting Israeli operations, with concerns raised about the potential violation of international human rights and humanitarian law.

Friends Committee on National Legislation and Center for Civilians in Conflict, have mobilized a coalition of more than 70 organizations, underscoring our plea in a letter to Congress. The letter urges lawmakers to endorse S.Res.504, a resolution introduced by Senator Bernie Sanders under Section 502B(c) of the Foreign Assistance Act. 

The resolution mandates a comprehensive State Department report on Israel's human rights practices and the utilization of U.S. military aid in the region. The vote next week gives Congress a crucial opportunity to examine whether US aid is being used in line with international and US law.


January 11, 2024

Dear Senators,

We, the undersigned organizations, urge you to cosponsor and vote in favor of S.Res.504, Senator Bernie Sanders' resolution under Section 502B(c) of the Foreign Assistance Act (22 U.S.C. § 2304) requiring a report on Israel’s human rights practices and U.S. military aid to Israel. After months of devastation in Gaza, there is urgent need for a meaningful debate on U.S. support for Israeli operations in Gaza and the West Bank, including the extent to which U.S. military aid may be supporting violations of international human rights and humanitarian law.

In response to the horrific October 7th attacks by Hamas, Israel has conducted a military campaign resulting in the deaths of more than 20,000 Palestinians in Gaza, approximately 70 percent of whom are women and children. Senator Sanders recently called the bombardment of Gaza “not just a humanitarian cataclysm, but a mass atrocity. And it is being done with bombs & equipment produced and provided by the United States and heavily subsidized by American taxpayers." President Biden has also stated that Israel is engaging in “indiscriminate bombing.”

Human rights organizations, including Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch, have documented egregious violations of international humanitarian law by both Hamas and the Israeli military. Hamas’ atrocities on October 7th -- as well as its continued holding of hostages and rocket launches into Israel -- do not relieve Israel of its responsibility to protect its people in a manner consistent with international humanitarian law. But as the Israeli offensive devastates Gaza, including through Israel’s siege, the United States continues to provide a steady stream of bombs, missiles, drones, artillery shells, and ammunition – all apparently without conditions. The Biden administration has even bypassed Congressional oversight through an emergency transfer authority. Despite investigations revealing potential war crimes committed by Israeli forces, the State Department has admitted that it has not been assessing Israel's compliance with international law throughout the conflict.

S.Res.504 offers an opportunity to affirm Congress's important oversight role, mandating that the Biden administration document and report on any human rights violations committed by the Israeli government. Congress should ensure that arms transfers and military aid provided to Israel, or any country, are consistent with U.S. law and policy, international law, and civilian protection responsibilities. The resolution would be an important step toward these goals.

Upon Senate passage, this resolution would require a report from the State Department on Israel's human rights practices within thirty days. The resolution and debate it generates would open the door to potential follow-on Congressional action.

Congress stands at a pivotal moment. It is long overdue for the Senate to hold a public vote and debate on U.S. complicity in Israeli human rights abuses against Palestinians living under occupation and bombardment, and to reassert Congressional oversight powers over U.S. arms transfer policy and foreign policy. We, the undersigned organizations, endorse this resolution and urge all Senators to cosponsor and vote in favor of S.Res.504.

Sincerely,

Action Corps

Alliance of Baptists

American Federation of Ramallah, Palestine

American Friends Service Committee

Americans for Peace Now

Amnesty International USA

Antiwar.com

Armenian National Committee of America

Arms Control Association

Avaaz

Campaign for Peace, Disarmament, and Common Security

Carolina Peace Center

Center for Civilians in Conflict

Center for International Policy

Center for Jewish Nonviolence

Center for Victims of Torture

Church of the Brethren, Office of Peacebuilding and Policy

Church World Service

Churches for Middle East Peace

CODEPINK

CommonDefense.us

Community of Christ

Community Peacemaker Teams

Delawareans for Palestinian Human Rights

Demand Progress Action

Democracy for the Arab World Now

Democratic Socialists of America

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Fellowship of Reconciliation

Franciscan Action Network

Freedom Forward

Friends Committee on National Legislation (FCNL)

Friends of Sabeel North America (FOSNA)

Global Ministries of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) and United Church of Christ

IfNotNow Movement

Indivisible

Institute for Policy Studies New Internationalism Project

International Civil Society Action Network (ICAN)

Just Foreign Policy

Legacies of War

Libertarian Institute

MADRE

Maryknoll Office for Global Concerns

Middle East Democracy Center (MEDC)Migrant Roots Media

Minnesota Peace Project

MPower Change Action Fund

National Council of Churches

National Iranian American Council Action

Nonviolence International

Nonviolent Peaceforce

Oxfam America

Pax Christi USA

Peace Action

Presbyterian Church (USA) Office of Public Witness

Quincy Institute for Responsible Statecraft

Quixote Center

Rachel Corrie Foundation for Peace

ReThinking Foreign Policy

RootsAction.org

Saferworld

Sisters of Mercy of the Americas - Justice Team

Sojourners

The Episcopal Church

The Riverside Church in the City of New York

U.S. Campaign for Palestinian Rights

U.S. Palestinian Council

United for Peace and Justice

United Methodist Church — General Board of Church and Society

Washington Advocates for Palestinian Rights

Win Without War

Women for Weapons Trade Transparency

Working Families Party

Yemen Relief and Reconstruction Foundation

Yemeni Alliance Committee

Download Letter Below:

You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English