fbpx
كل دولار يصل إلى $50،000 حتى 31 ديسمبر! تبرع اليوم.
آلية SpeakUp® الخاصة بنا
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءتبرع

الحماية التي يقودها المجتمع في السودان

التاريخ: 19 أبريل 2024

اضغط على مصدر المقطع: التفاعل
رابط المصدر: هنا 

بقلم: ميغان رودجرز، نيك بيات، شذى أحمد

واجه المدنيون في أجزاء كثيرة من السودان بالفعل مخاطر شديدة من العنف قبل اندلاع الصراع الحالي بين القوات المسلحة السودانية وقوات الدعم السريع في 15 أبريل 2023. وقد أدى الصراع إلى تفاقم المخاطر القائمة بشكل كبير وأثار مخاوف جديدة وواسعة النطاق بشأن الحماية، تتراوح بين الاعتقال التعسفي إلى العنف الجنسي.

كان مخيم خور أجوال للنازحين داخليًا يستضيف في البداية 10,000 نازح داخليًا وكان عليه أن يستضيف حوالي 6,000 آخرين فارين من الخرطوم. واضطرت عدة عائلات إلى تقاسم الخيام نفسها. مصدر الصورة: أحمد عمر/ المجلس النرويجي للاجئين.

قادت مجموعات ومنظمات المجتمع المحلي الاستجابة للحماية، وعملت على دعم المجتمعات الضعيفة ومنع انتهاكات القانون الدولي الإنساني ضد المدنيين.

يمكن رؤية قدرة المجتمعات على العمل معًا للحفاظ على سلامة بعضها البعض من خلال فرق حماية المرأة، بدعم من قوة السلام اللاعنفية، العاملة في شمال دارفور. تتألف فرق WPT من مقيمات تم تدريبهن على تحديد أهم مخاطر الحماية التي يواجهنها هن ومجتمعاتهن وتطوير استجابات محلية لتقليل مخاطر الحماية هذه أو حلها.

"يمكننا التواصل مع جميع الأشخاص ويعرف الأشخاص أين يجدوننا على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع. أوضح إشرفا، الذي كان عضوًا منذ تنظيم المجموعات. "لقد تم تدريبنا على تقديم الدعم الذي يركز على الناجين وربط أفراد المجتمع بخدمات المتابعة، مثل الدعم الطبي والنفسي والقانوني - على الرغم من أن هذا صعب للغاية في الوقت الحالي.

تشجع فرق WPTs أيضًا على اتباع أساليب بسيطة لمنع العنف، مثل تنظيم النساء لجمع الحطب معًا للبقاء في أمان، ومساعدة الأسر على إعداد نفسها في حالة احتياجها إلى الفرار من العنف، وتبادل الإنذارات المبكرة حول تغير ديناميكيات الصراع مع مجتمعاتهم.

"وفي العام الماضي، جاء العديد من النازحين إلى مخيم زمزم من نيالا وأماكن أخرى هربًا من العنف. أضاف اشرافا. "قدمت مجموعتنا الإسعافات الأولية النفسية، وساعدت الأسر الضعيفة، وشاركت المعلومات حول المكان الذي يمكنهم فيه إقامة ملاجئهم بأمان أو من يطلبون المساعدة."

وذكرت إشرفا أن أكثر ما جعلها فخورة هو قدرة المجموعة على دعم المجتمع في حل القضايا سلمياً. جنبًا إلى جنب مع شيوخ المجتمع ومجموعات الشباب، تم تدريب فرق WPT على منهجيات حل النزاعات اللاعنفية. وتستخدم الأدوات التي تعلموها لمنع الصراع مع المجتمعات المجاورة أو لتسوية النزاعات بين العائلات.

وتواصل منظمة محلية أخرى، وهي ندى الأزهر، العمل بلا كلل من أجل حماية أفراد المجتمع في السودان. وفي حين أن دورات العنف والنزوح السابقة أعدت المنظمة للاستجابة للأزمة الحالية، إلا أن اتساع نطاق انتهاكات الحماية وحجمها كان مثيراً للقلق خلال العام الماضي بسبب انتشار النزوح على نطاق واسع وفشل الجهات المسؤولة في التخفيف من الأضرار التي تلحق بالمدنيين.

كمنظمة، كانت مهمة الحماية التي تقوم بها NADA واضحة دائمًا، لكن الصراع عزز قدرة المجتمع على حماية نفسه من خلال التدخلات التي تقودها محليًا. على سبيل المثال، قامت NADA بتطوير استجابات يقودها المجتمع المحلي لبرامج حماية الطفل، وخاصة لخدمات لم شمل الأسرة والصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي. لقد عملوا على ضمان أن يكون تنفيذ البرنامج مصحوبًا برفع مستوى الوعي والتشاور مع أفراد المجتمع، فضلاً عن المشاركة والتدريب مع السلطات المحلية والوكالات الوزارية. وقد سمح ذلك باستجابة حماية تركز على الطفل ولا تكون بقيادة محلية ومستدامة فحسب، بل أيضًا تدريب وتجهيز القادة والسلطات المحلية لتحديد أولويات نتائج الحماية.

"نحن نقوم بدورنا، ولكن الحماية في نهاية المطاف هي عملية. هذه التحديات والإحباطات لا تزعجنا بل تغذي إصرارنا،"يعكس مؤسس NADA.

التوصيات

وفي السودان، تتحمل المنظمات المحلية وطأة جهود الاستجابة الإنسانية بتمويل محدود ومخاطر إضافية. ومع ذلك، فقد تم تسليط الضوء على فعالية حماية المدنيين على مستوى المجتمع المحلي في هذا السياق. وعلى هذا النحو، فإننا نوصي بما يلي:

  • يستثمر المانحون في آليات الحماية التي يقودها المجتمع والتي تعالج المخاطر اليومية التي يواجهها المدنيون في جميع أنحاء السودان والتي ستبقى جزءًا من النسيج الاجتماعي إلى ما بعد فترة الاستجابة الإنسانية.
  • يتبنى المانحون والمنفذون الإنسانيون مناهج تعاقدية تشجع وتدعم بشكل هادف جهود الحماية المحلية إلى جانب التمويل المخصص والدعم الفني وسلطة اتخاذ القرار الموجهة للعاملين في المجال الإنساني المحليين.
  • تعطي الجهات المانحة الأولوية للاستجابة الإنسانية التي تراعي ظروف النزاع والتي تدعم القانون الدولي الإنساني، بالإضافة إلى برامج الحماية العامة المستقلة لتلبية احتياجات أزمة الحماية المستمرة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ينبغي دمج نتائج الحماية في القطاعات الحيوية الأخرى، مثل برامج الأمن الغذائي والمياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة العامة.
  • يقوم المانحون ومنفذو المساعدات الإنسانية بإعطاء الأولوية وزيادة الوصول إلى خدمات الصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي وتوفير الموارد للمتضررين من العنف، وخاصة للفئات المهمشة بشكل إضافي.

* * *

عن المؤلفين

~ميغان رودجرز هي مديرة السياسة والمناصرة الأمريكية لقوة السلام اللاعنفية

~نيك بيات هو رئيس بعثة قوة السلام اللاعنفية في السودان

~شذى أحمد هي المديرة التنفيذية لـ NADA.

الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال هي آراء الكتّاب.

-

للحصول على معلومات بخصوص سلسلة المدونات أو مجموعة عمل السودان التابعة لمنظمة InterAction، يرجى التواصل مع ميس بلخي على [email protected]. لاستفسارات وسائل الإعلام، يرجى الاتصال بميتش ماكويت على [email protected].

يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

fbpx
Every dollar matched up to $50,000 until December 31! Give today.
Our SpeakUp® Mechanism
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

Community-Led Protection In Sudan

Date: April 19, 2024

Press Clip Source: InterAction
Link to Source: Here 

By: Megan Rodgers, Nic Pyatt, Shaza Ahmed

Civilians in many parts of Sudan already faced extreme risks of violence before the current conflict between the Sudanese Armed Forces and Rapid Support Forces broke out on April 15, 2023. The conflict has dramatically escalated existing risks and introduced new and widespread protection concerns, ranging from arbitrary detention to sexual violence.

Khor Ajwal IDP camp was initially hosting 10,000 internally displaced people and had to host almost 6,000 more fleeing from Khartoum. Several families had to share the same tents. Photo credit: Ahmed Omer/ NRC.

Local community groups and organizations have led the protection response, working to support vulnerable communities and prevent violations of international humanitarian law (IHL) against civilians.

The capacity of communities to work together to keep each other safe can be seen through Women’s Protection Teams (WPTs), supported by Nonviolent Peaceforce, operating in North Darfur. WPTs are comprised of female residents trained to identify the most important protection risks they and their communities face and develop local responses to reduce or resolve those protection risks.

We can reach out to all people and people know where to find us 24/7,” explained Ishrava, who has been a member since the groups were organized. “We are trained in providing survivor-focused support and connecting community members to follow up services, such as medical, psychological, and legal support—although this is extremely difficult at the moment.”

The WPTs also encourage simple approaches to preventing violence, such as organizing women to collect firewood together to stay safe, helping families prepare themselves in case they need to flee from violence, and sharing early warnings about changing conflict dynamics with their communities.

Last year, many IDPs came to Zamzam camp from Nyala and other places to escape the violence,” added Ishrava. “Our group provided psychological first aid, helped vulnerable families, and shared information on where they could safely set up their shelters or who to ask for help.

Ishrava stated that what made her most proud was the group’s ability to support the community in resolving issues peacefully. Along with community elders and youth groups, the WPTs have been trained in nonviolent conflict resolution methodologies. The tools they have learned are used to prevent conflict with neighboring communities or to settle disputes between families.

Another local organization, NADA Elazhar, also continues to work tirelessly for the protection of community members in Sudan. While previous cycles of violence and displacement prepared the organization to respond to the current crisis, the breadth and scale of protection violations have been alarming over the last year because of widespread displacement and the failure of duty bearers to mitigate civilian harm.

As an organization, NADA’s protection mission has always been clear, but the conflict has reinforced the community’s capacity to protect itself through locally-led interventions. For example, NADA has developed community-led responses for child protection programming, particularly for family reunification services and mental health and psychosocial support. They have worked to ensure that program delivery is accompanied by awareness raising and consultations with community members, as well as engagement and training with local authorities and ministerial agencies. This has allowed for a child-centered protection response that is not only locally-led and sustainable, but also one that trains and equips local leaders and authorities to prioritize protection outcomes.

“We are doing our part, but ultimately protection is a process. These challenges and frustrations don’t upset us but fuel our determination,” reflects the founder of NADA.

Recommendations

In Sudan, local organizations are bearing the brunt of humanitarian response efforts with limited funding and additional risk. Nevertheless, the effectiveness of community-level civilian protection has been highlighted in this context. As such, we recommend the following:

  • Donors invest in community-led protection mechanisms that address the daily risks faced by civilians throughout Sudan that will stay part of the social fabric well beyond the life of the humanitarian response.
  • Humanitarian donors and implementers adopt contractual approaches that meaningfully encourage and support localized protection efforts alongside dedicated funding, technical support, and decision-making power directed at local humanitarian workers.
  • Donors prioritize conflict-sensitive humanitarian response that upholds IHL, as well as standalone general protection programming to meet the needs of the ongoing protection crisis. In addition, protection outcomes should be integrated across other critical sectors, such as food security and water, sanitation, and hygiene (WASH) programming.
  • Donors and humanitarian implementers prioritize and increase access and resourcing to mental health and psychosocial support services for those affected by violence, especially for additionally marginalized groups.

* * *

About the Authors

~Megan Rodgers is U.S. Policy and Advocacy Manger for Nonviolent Peaceforce

~Nic Pyatt is Head of Mission in Sudan, Nonviolent Peaceforce

~Shaza Ahmed is Executive Director of NADA.

The views expressed in this article are the writers’ own.

For information regarding the blog series or InterAction’s Sudan Working Group, please reach out to Mais Balkhi at [email protected]. For media inquiries, please contact Mitch McQuate at [email protected].

You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English