انظر الأحداث القادمة
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءيتبرع

حماية الأماكن التي تُسمع فيها الأصوات 

تاريخ: 1 مايو 2022

في كثير من الأحيان ، يؤدي العنف إلى تآكل المساحة المتاحة للأشخاص ناقصي التمثيل والحماية ، مثل العمال والشباب ، للتعبير عن احتياجاتهم وممارسة حقوقهم. نحن نعلم أن الصراع والخلاف يتصاعدان فقط عندما يتم التعدي على هذه المساحات الحاسمة. 

لهذا السبب تقدم NPUS دعمًا للسلامة للإجراءات والاحتفالات والأحداث المجتمعية - لإبقاء المساحة مفتوحة لحقوق التعديل الأولى للجميع ، بما في ذلك الاحتجاج والعمل المدني. عندما تدعم NP ، فإنك تدعم المجتمعات في إعطاء الأولوية للسلامة حتى يتمكنوا من ذلك على حد سواء سمع ومحمي. اكتشف كيف تفعل فرقنا في نيويورك ومينيابوليس ذلك بالضبط. 

أشخاص يسيرون وعليهم لافتة كتب عليها "لا تترك أي عامل خلفك. $3 مليار صندوق شامل"
مسيرة متظاهرين من ائتلاف عمال الصندوق المستبعدين للمطالبة بالاندماج في شبكة الأمان الاجتماعي والاقتصادي.

حماية العمال المطالبين بالحماية  

في حين أنه ليس دور NP هو وصف الاستراتيجيات أو تنظيم الإجراءات أو الدفاع عن أي نتيجة تشريعية معينة ، يمكن أن تلعب NP دورًا مهمًا في الحفاظ على الفضاء المدني مفتوحًا لسماع الأصوات وممارسة الحقوق.  

في أحد أيام شهر ديسمبر الباردة في مدينة نيويورك ، تجمع 250 عاملاً بجانب سوق عطلة مزدحم. تحدث الأسواق كل عام وتحظى بزيارات من السياح وسكان نيويورك على حد سواء. في هذا اليوم بالذات ، تم تشكيل تحالف العمال المستثنيين من الصندوق المجاور. يمثل التحالف القوة العاملة متعددة الأعراق والثقافات في نيويورك ، وقد تم استبعاد العديد منهم من الفوائد الاقتصادية التي تمس الحاجة إليها والإغاثة طوال الوباء. 

لماذا طلبت الحماية؟ في كثير من الأحيان ، يكون العمل الأكثر أهمية هو الذي لا يتلقى الدعم الكافي ويستغل ويصبح غير مرئي. في ولاية نيويورك ، يدعم صندوق العمال المستبعدين هؤلاء العمال الضعفاء ، أولئك الذين لا يستطيعون الوصول إلى الإغاثة بسبب حالة الهجرة الخاصة بهم ، ويغطي الاحتياجات الأساسية مثل الإيجار ومحلات البقالة والفواتير الطبية. لكن الصندوق غير كافٍ لعشرات الآلاف من العمال ، الذين يتم تصنيف جميع عملهم على أنه "ضروري". مع اقتراب عام 2021 من نهايته واحتفلت المدينة بالعطلات وسط موجة تفشي هائلة ، كان العمال يطالبون بمليار تيرابايت و 3 تيرابايت لتمويل العمال المستبعدين بالكامل. بناءً على علاقة طويلة الأمد ، تواصل مع عدد قليل من المنظمين NP للدعم في بناء مساحة آمنة لهذا الإجراء حيث يمكن سماع هذه المطالب. 

"بدءًا من الطرق الاستكشافية ، وتأمين الحراس ، والريادة في تنسيق جميع الخدمات اللوجستية للسلامة والأمن ، ظل هذا الفريق يتقدم باستمرار من أجل إجراءات التحالف القليلة ، ووفر مساحة للمنظمين للقيام بأعمال مذهلة وحشد مئات الأشخاص عبر NYC من أجل الفوز بصندوق تاريخي ، "شارك منظم من التحالف. 

كل من هذه الإجراءات الجريئة تركز بنشاط على الأشخاص الأكثر تأثراً بالعنف الاقتصادي والعنف الذي تفرضه الدولة ويبني من مكان مخاوفهم المتعلقة بالسلامة. واجه العمال الذين يشكلون التحالف مخاطر أمنية متزايدة ومخاوف تتعلق بالحماية. قد يؤدي التصعيد غير المقصود إلى تعريض وجود العمال في الولايات المتحدة للخطر بسبب أوضاع الهجرة. يتعرض العمال بشكل روتيني للمضايقات من قبل الجهات الحكومية ، ويخشون الأمر نفسه من جهات إنفاذ القانون والباعة وموظفي المنتزهات. وكان على فريق السلامة في NP ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع منظمي المسيرة ، أخذ هذه العوامل في الاعتبار.  

"ممارسة الحق في الفضاء المدني وخلق الرؤية لا يعني بالضرورة ترك عناصر الأمان خلفك، "شارك أحد أعضاء فريق NP. "إن التزام تحالف FEW بالأمان يأتي من أ الالتزام بالعلاقات التي تربطهم ببعضهم البعض وتركيز احتياجاتهم على بريقها.

الحماية لمن يطالبون بالحمايةس: إن المقاربة ذاتها للسلامة التي يستخدمها تحالف FEW في الشارع هي تلك التي يقاتلون من أجلها في مهنهم: التعرف على التهديدات التي يشكلها الوباء ، والبناء على مخاوف الأشخاص الأكثر تهميشًا ، والأهم من ذلك ، الشعور بأنهم مرئيون وقيمة.  

كان NP قادرًا على العمل كمخزن مؤقت لإتاحة مثل هذه المساحة للمظاهرة. عندما هدد موظفو الحديقة بالتدخل ويطلبون من المسيرة أن تفرق ، كان أحد أعضاء فريق NP قادرًا على إيصال أهداف الحدث والحصول على الدعم من شخصية رئيسية في السلطة. عندما أصيب السائقون والمتسوقون والمارة بالإحباط لأن مساراتهم كانت مغلقة مؤقتًا من قبل الهيئة التوضيحية ، كان فريق NP قادرًا على مشاركة الغرض من المسيرة وبناء التعاطف بسرعة. 

عندما هدد موظفو الحديقة بالتدخل وطلبوا من المتظاهرين التفرق ، تمكن أحد أعضاء فريق NP من إيصال أهداف الحدث وغادروا دون وقوع حوادث.

فاق عدد المؤيدين للإجراء عدد أولئك الذين ظلوا محبطين بسبب الانقطاع. عندما اجتمع التحالف حول مكتب الحاكم ، تعرف سائقي سيارات الأجرة المارة على المجموعة وتجولوا حول المبنى للانضمام إلى المسيرة من سياراتهم تضامناً. مع دوي أبواق السيارات وهتافات تملأ الشوارع ، استمرت التظاهرة لبناء الطاقة والوعي مع الحفاظ على سلامة الجميع.  

المرأة، الارتداء، جماعة سلامة الفريق، صدرية، أقصى، غرفة المؤتمر
منسقة المتطوعين أميرة وارين تسهل السلامة خارج قاعة حياة ريجنسي خلال منتدى تمكين الشباب الطلابي.

حماية الطلاب المطالبين بالعمل 

على بعد أكثر من ألف ميل ، كان فريق Minnesota NP يستعد لتسهيل السلامة لمنتدى تمكين الشباب الطلابي. خلال عام 2021 ، لفتت العديد من الأحداث البارزة الانتباه إلى أنماط العنصرية والمضايقات التي يتم التغاضي عنها بشكل منهجي, وانعدام المساءلة من المعلمين والإداريين. 

لا يتمثل دور NP في وصف الحلول أو الإجراءات ، ولكن في تنمية مساحة دافئة ومرحبة. تتمثل مهمة NP في الاحتفاظ بالمساحة وتكريم الحدود بحيث يمكن سماع الأصوات. 

في التاسع من كانون الأول (ديسمبر) ، صعد طلاب من المدارس الثانوية حول منطقة مترو مينيابوليس إلى المسرح تبادل الخبرات المروعة من التحرش الجنسي والتنمر العنصري. بينما يجعلنا العنف والصدمات في كثير من الأحيان نشعر بأننا الشخص الوحيد في الغرفة ، فقد امتلأت هذه المساحة بالمنظمين والطلاب والمعلمين وأولياء الأمور وقادة مينيسوتا البارزين والمنتخبين الذين تعهدوا بإحداث تغيير حقيقي. ال تحالف العدالة مينيسوتا، الذي نظم ونسق المنتدى ، طلب من NP دعم سلامة الحدث. 

لماذا كانت الحماية مطلوبة؟ أقيم الحدث في مكان شبه عام ، وواجه منظمو التخطيط للسلامة احتمال حدوث اضطرابات من قبل محرضين خارجيين ، بالإضافة إلى تهديدات للسلامة الجسدية والعاطفية للطلاب والمسؤولين المنتخبين على حد سواء. وفي عالم تنتشر فيه التهديدات للمدارس ، أصبحت زراعة طاقة آمنة وصياغة نموذج بديل أولوية.  

"الطاقة التي تبذلها هي الطاقة التي تتلقاها" ، أوضحت منسقة الحدث ثوي جونز. "وضعنا الطاقة لأن هذا كان مكانًا آمنًا ومرحبًا وهذا ما حصلنا عليه." 

بينما كان المشاركون والحضور يستمعون إلى القصص المزعجة ويتردد صداها مع التجارب المؤلمة ، قدم فريق NP الماء والدعم اللطيف. وعندما أصبح ضيوف الفندق الفضوليون والمارة مزعجين ، عمل فريق NP على تهدئة الموقف وضمان استمرار الحدث دون انقطاع.   

صرح جوناثون ماكليلان ، مدير تحالف العدالة في مينيسوتا ، أن "ارتداء السترات الواقية من الرصاص يعطي طاقة السلامة ويمنح الناس السلام". 

الحماية لمن يطالبون بالحماية: يريد الطلاب أمانًا يتجاوز السلامة الجسدية ويؤكد كيانهم وانتمائهم بالكامل.  

قال أحد المتحدثين: "لم أشعر أبدًا بالأمان في المدرسة". وعلى الرغم من وجود طريق طويل أمامنا لبناء بيئات مدرسية آمنة حقًا ، فقد دعم فريق NP هذا النوع من الأمان في ليلة المنتدى.

يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

See upcoming events
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

Protecting Spaces Where Voices are Heard 

Date: May 1, 2022

All too often, violence corrodes the space for underrepresented and under-protected people, like workers and youth, to express their needs and exercise their rights. We know that conflict and disagreement only escalate when these crucial spaces are infringed upon. 

That’s why NPUS offers safety support for community actions, celebrations, and events--to keep space open for everyone’s first amendment rights, including protest and civic action. When you support NP, you support communities in prioritizing safety so they can be both heard and protected. Check out how our teams in New York and Minneapolis are doing just that. 

People marching with sign that reads "Leave no worker behind. $3 billion fund full inclusion"
Demonstrators from the Fund Excluded Workers Coalition march to demand inclusion in the socio-economic safety net.

Protecting the Workers Demanding Protections  

While it is not NP’s role to prescribe strategies, organize actions or advocate for any particular legislative outcome, NP can play an important role in keeping civic space open for voices to be heard and rights to be exercised.  

On a cold December day in New York City, 250 workers gathered beside a bustling holiday market. The markets happen every year and garner visitation from tourists and New Yorkers alike.  On this particular day, the Fund Excluded Workers (FEW) Coalition set up right next door. The Coalition represents New York’s multiethnic, and multicultural labor force, many of whom have been excluded from much-needed economic benefits and relief throughout the pandemic. 

Why was protection requested? All too often, it is the most essential labor that is under-supported, exploited, and made invisible. In New York state, the Excluded Workers Fund supports these vulnerable workers, those who cannot access covid relief due to their immigration status, and covers essential needs like rent, groceries, and medical bills. But the fund is insufficient for the tens of thousands of workers fits, all of whose labor is categorized as “essential”. As 2021 came to a close and the city celebrated the holidays amidst a massive covid surge, workers were demanding $3 billion to fully fund excluded workers. Based in a long-standing relationship, FEW organizers reached out to NP for support in building a safe space for this action where these demands could be heard. 

“From scouting routes, securing marshals, and leading in the coordination of all of the safety and security logistics, this team has constantly pulled through for our FEW Coalition actions and has made space for organizers to pull off amazing actions and mobilize hundreds of people across NYC in order to win a historic fund,” shared an organizer from the Coalition. 

Each of these bold actions actively centers the people most impacted by economic and state-sanctioned violence and builds from a place of their safety concerns. The workers who make up the Coalition experience heightened security risks and protection concerns. An unintended escalation could jeopardize workers’ presence in the United States, due to immigration statuses. Workers routinely face harassment from state actors, and feared the same from law enforcement, vendors and park staff. And the NP safety team, together with the march organizers, had to take these factors into consideration.  

Exercising the right to civic space and creating visibility does not have to mean you leave elements of safety behind,” shared one NP team member. “The FEW Coalition’s commitment to safety comes from a commitment to the relationships that they have with each other and centering their needs over the flashiness of it.” 

Protection for those demanding protections: The very approach to safety the FEW Coalition models on the street is the one they are fighting for in their occupations: to recognize the threats posed by the pandemic, to build from the concerns of the most marginalized, and, most fundamentally, to feel seen and valued.  

NP was able to serve as a buffer to make such a space possible for the demonstration. When park staff threatened to intervene and ask the march to disperse, an NP team member was able to communicate the aims of the event and gain support from a key authority figure. When drivers, shoppers, and passersby became frustrated because their paths were temporarily blocked by the demonstrative body, the NP team was able to share the purpose of the march and quickly build empathy. 

When park staff threatened to intervene and asked the marchers to disperse, an NP team member was able to communicate the aims of the event and they left without incident.

Those in support of the action far outnumbered those who remained frustrated by the interruption. As the Coalition gathered around the Governor’s office, passing taxi drivers recognized the group and went around the block to join the march from their vehicles in solidarity. With car horns blaring and chants filling the streets, the demonstration continued, building energy and awareness while keeping everyone safe.  

Woman wearing Community Safety Team vest outside conference room
Volunteer Coordinator Amira Warren facilitates safety outside the Hyatt Regency Ballroom during the Student Youth Empowerment Forum.

Protecting the Students Demanding Action 

Over one thousand miles away, the Minnesota NP team was preparing to facilitate safety for the Student Youth Empowerment Forum. During 2021, several high-profile events have brought attention to systemically overlooked patterns of racism, harassment, and lack of accountability from teachers and administrators. 

NP’s role is not to prescribe solutions or actions, but to cultivate a space that is warm and welcoming. The job of NP is to hold the space and honor boundaries so that voices can be heard. 

On December 9th, students from high schools around the Minneapolis metro area took to the stage to share harrowing experiences of sexual harassment and racist bullying. While violence and trauma all too often make us feel like the only one in the room, this space was filled with organizers, students, teachers, parents, and prominent Minnesota leaders and electeds who pledged to effect real change. The Minnesota Justice Coalition, who organized and coordinated the forum, asked NP to support the event’s safety. 

Why was protection needed? The event took place in a semi-public venue, and in their safety planning organizers were confronted with the possibility of disruptions by outside agitators, as well as threats to the physical and emotional safety of students and elected officials alike. And in a world where threats to schools are all too common, cultivating a safe energy and modeling an alternative became a priority.  

“The energy you put out is the energy you receive,” explained event coordinator Thuy Jones. “We put out the energy that this was a safe, welcoming space and that is what we got.” 

As participants and attendees listened to upsetting stories and resonated with traumatic experiences, the NP team offered water and gentle support. And when curious hotel guests and passersby became disruptive, the NP team worked to de-escalate the situation and ensure the event continued, uninterrupted.   

“Having the vests on gives that safety energy and gives people peace,” stated Johnathon McClellan, the director of the Minnesota Justice Coalition. 

Protection for those demanding protection: The students want safety that goes beyond physical safety and affirms their whole being and belonging.  

“I never felt safe at school,” shared one speaker. And while there is a long road ahead to build truly safe school environments, the NP team supported that kind of safety for the night of the forum.

You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English