انظر الأحداث القادمة
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءيتبرع

NP Assessment in Ukraine

تاريخ: 26 أبريل 2022
"نريد السلام ، ونوقف الحرب ، والدنا مطلوب في المنزل." التقطت الصورة في ملجأ النساء في لفيف ، أوكرانيا. 

بعد التواصل والتنسيق في الأسابيع القليلة الأولى بعد الغزو الروسي لأوكرانيا في 24 فبراير 2022 ، أرسل فريق Nonviolent Peaceforce (NP) فريق تقييم على الأرض في أوائل أبريل.  

إن الحاجة إلى حماية المدنيين في أوكرانيا وحولها هائلة - في وقت نشر هذا التقرير ، ذكرت وكالة رويترز أن ما لا يقل عن 46000 حالة وفاة ، و 12000 إصابة غير مميتة ، وما لا يقل عن 400 في عداد المفقودين ، وما لا يقل عن 13 مليون نازح.  

يقوم الفريق بتقييم ما إذا كان NP قد يكون له دور في الاستجابة وأين. في أبريل ، قضى فريق NP بعض الوقت في لفيف وكييف ودنيبرو وزابوريزهزيا. في مثل هذه الحالة الحادة مثل هذا ، هناك دائمًا مخاوف تتعلق بالحماية عندما يتنقل عدد كبير من الأشخاص. على الرغم من أن أخبار القصف العنيف وتحركات القوات الروسية تهيمن على العناوين الرئيسية ، فإن الوضع على الأرض يشمل أيضًا مخاوف بشأن الاتجار بالبشر ومخاطر العنف الجنسي والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي.  

اجتمع الفريق مع المجموعات في زابوريزهزيا 

يأتي جزء كبير من استجابة الحماية من أولئك المعرضين أنفسهم للخطر. أحد المخاطر التي نراها في حالات الطوارئ الإنسانية مثل هذا هو أنه في اندفاع المجتمع الدولي للاستجابة ، غالبًا ما يتم تهميش المجتمع المدني المحلي. نحن نجري تقييمًا على الأرض للتأكد من أن استجابتنا حساسة للغاية للنزاع وتتركز على الوكالة الأوكرانية المحلية - المبادئ الرئيسية لنهج الحماية المدنية غير المسلحة (UCP). 

يجتمع الفريق مع الأشخاص الرئيسيين على الأرض - مثل ملاجئ النساء ، ومجموعات الطلاب ، والشركاء في المجال الإنساني - للتعاون حول كيف وكيف سترحب هذه المجموعات باستراتيجيات UCP. في الصراع العنيف ، هناك الكثير من العوامل غير المعروفة ، ولكن قوة NP هي أننا نتكيف مع السياق والاحتياجات من خلال الاستماع إلى السكان المحليين. 

كان الناس يعرضون لي صورًا لمنازلهم التي لم تعد موجودة. لقد دمرها القصف. ماذا يمكنك أن تقول لشخص فقد كل شيء؟  

- أوكسانا ، ممثلة المجموعة النسائية في كييف  

يبني الفريق على مشروعنا القصير في أوكرانيا في عام 2015. خلال هذا المشروع ، بنى موظفونا علاقات لفهم النزاع بشكل أفضل ، وتحديد دور NP ، وإجراء تدريبات على حماية المدنيين غير المسلحين. قامت NP بتدريب ثلاثين أوكرانيًا يمثلون العديد من منظمات المجتمع المدني وأفراد المجتمع والسلطات المحلية على توفير وجود وقائي للمدنيين. اقرأ المزيد عن عملنا في أوكرانيا في 2015 هنا.  

NP ليس غريباً عن العمل في حالات الطوارئ الإنسانية.  

خلال حصار مراوي ، في الفلبين في عام 2017 ، ارتكب المسلحون عمليات قتل خارج نطاق القانون واحتجاز جماعي للرهائن ونهب ممتلكات المدنيين على نطاق واسع في المجتمع المحلي. قام NP جنبًا إلى جنب مع هياكل لجنة السلام وجميعهم من المدنيين العزل ، بتسهيل إنقاذ أكثر من 1500 مدني محاصر من خلال ممر السلام ، الذي أنشأته لجان السلام بناءً على إصرار NP. في ذلك الوقت ، رافق NP العائلات المسلمة وغير المسلمة أثناء إجلائهم ودعمهم للناجين من الرهائن.   

قام NP أيضًا بحماية المدنيين خلال معركة الموصل ، عندما استعادت القوات الحكومية العراقية - جنبًا إلى جنب مع الميليشيات المتحالفة ، وحكومة إقليم كردستان ، والقوات الدولية - مدينة الموصل من داعش في عام 2017. في خضم الأزمة ، قام فريقنا بتسهيل وساعدت عمليات الإجلاء خارج المدينة في تأمين الممر الإنساني للمدنيين.  

في كل حالة من هذه المواقف ، كان NP موجودًا خلال ذروة الصراع - لا يمكن للمدنيين الانتظار حتى تبدأ عمليات السلام الرسمية حتى يتم أخذ حمايتهم في الاعتبار.  

نتطلع إلى تزويدك بمزيد من المعلومات في الأسابيع القادمة.  

يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

See upcoming events
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

NP Assessment in Ukraine

Date: April 26, 2022
“We want peace, stop the war, our dad is needed at home.” Picture taken at the women’s shelter in Lviv, Ukraine. 

After communication and coordination in the first few weeks after the Russian invasion of Ukraine on February 24, 2022, Nonviolent Peaceforce (NP) sent an assessment team on the ground in early April.  

The need for civilian protection in and around Ukraine is massive—at the time of publication, Reuters reports at least 46,000 deaths, 12,000 non-fatal injuries, at least 400 missing, and at least 13 million displaced people.  

The team is assessing if and where NP might have a role in the response. In April, the NP team spent time in Lviv, Kyiv, Dnipro, and Zaporizhzhia. In such an acute situation such as this, there are always protection concerns when large amounts of people are moving around. Although the headlines are dominated by news of heavy shelling and of Russian troop movement, the situation on the ground also includes concerns over human trafficking and risks of sexual- and gender-based violence.  

The team has been meeting with groups in Zaporizhzhia 

Much of the protection response is coming from those who are at risk themselves. One of the risks we see in humanitarian emergency situations such as this is that, in the international community’s rush to respond, the local civil society is often sidelined. We are doing an assessment on the ground to make sure our response is highly conflict-sensitive and centered on local Ukrainian agency – key principles of an Unarmed Civilian Protection (UCP) approach. 

The team is meeting with key people on the ground—such as women’s shelters, student groups, and humanitarian partners—to collaborate on how and what way these groups would welcome UCP strategies. In violent conflict, there are a lot of unknown factors, but the strength of NP is we adapt to context and needs by listening to local people. 

People would show me photos of their homes that no longer exist. They have been destroyed by shelling. What can you say to a person who has lost everything?  

- Oksana, women's group Representative in Kyiv  

The team is building on our short project in Ukraine in 2015. During that project, our staff built relationships to better understand the conflict, determine NP's role, and to conduct trainings on unarmed civilian protection. NP trained thirty Ukrainians representing several civil society organizations, community members and local authorities on providing a protective presence to civilians. Read more about our work in Ukraine in 2015 here.  

NP is no stranger to working in humanitarian emergency situations.  

During the Marawi Siege, in the Philippines in 2017, militants inflicted extrajudicial killings, mass hostage-taking, and extensive looting of civilian property on the local community. NP along with the peace panel structures who are all unarmed civilians, facilitated the rescue of more than 1,500 trapped civilians through the Peace Corridor, created by the peace panels on NP’s insistence. At the time, NP accompanied Muslim and non-Muslim families as they evacuated and supported hostage survivors.   

NP also protected civilians during the Battle of Mosul, when the Iraqi Government forces—together with allied militias, the Kurdistan Regional Government, and international forces—retook the city of Mosul from ISIS in 2017. In the midst of the crisis, our team facilitated evacuations out of the city and helped secure the humanitarian corridor for civilians.  

In each of these situations, NP was there during the peak of conflict—civilians cannot wait for the formal peace processes to start for their protection to be taken into account.  

We look forward to providing you further information in the coming weeks.  

You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English