fbpx
كل دولار يصل إلى $50،000 حتى 31 ديسمبر! تبرع اليوم.
آلية SpeakUp® الخاصة بنا
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءتبرع

مع استمرار الغزو الروسي ، يكافح كبار السن والمعوقون في أوكرانيا من أجل البقاء

تاريخ: 21 يوليو 2022

مصدر المقطع الصحفي الأصلي (إنجليزي): شن اللاعنف
مصدر المقطع الصحفي المترجم (إيطالي): إل سنترو ستودي سيرينو ريجي

بواسطة تيتيانا جافيوك و يواكيم كلاينمان 

ضابط حماية من قوة السلام اللاعنفية يسير بجوار مبنى سكني دمرته القوات الروسية في خاركيف ، أوكرانيا ، في مايو 2022.
بعد زيارة أخيرة إلى شمال شرق أوكرانيا المتضررة بشدة ، كشف حماة مدنيون غير مسلحين عن عدم وجود مشاركة إنسانية مع السكان الأكثر ضعفاً في البلاد.

وقف العشرات خارج مدخل مبنى سكني في ضواحي خاركيف. كان البعض يتحدث ، والبعض الآخر يحدق في صمت ، تائه في أفكاره. كان الجميع مرهقين ويستوعبون حقائقهم الجديدة. وظهر المبنى الأشعث الذي يسمونه المنزل في الخلفية ، وتحطمت نوافذه من أيام قصف القوات الروسية.

تقع مدينة خاركيف على بعد أقل من 20 ميلاً من الحدود الروسية ، وقد شهدت بعض أعنف المعارك منذ بدء الحرب في أواخر فبراير. وفر ما يقرب من نصف سكانها البالغ عددهم 1.4 مليون نسمة في الأسابيع التي أعقبت بدء الهجوم.

بصفتنا أعضاء في منظمة Nonviolent Peaceforce ، وهي منظمة دولية غير حكومية لحماية المدنيين غير المسلحين ، قمنا بزيارة خاركيف في مايو لتقييم احتياجات السكان المعرضين للخطر ، وتحديد مخاوف الحماية الحرجة وإقامة علاقات مع جهود الاستجابة التي يقودها المدنيون في جميع أنحاء مجتمعات الخطوط الأمامية الأكثر تضررًا من الحرب.

أثناء مشاهدة سكان المبنى المتبقين ينتظرون بتسامح في طابور لوجبتهم الساخنة اليومية - التي يقدمها متطوعون محليون منظمون ذاتيًا - كان من الصعب تجاهل حقيقة أنهم في الغالب من كبار السن والمعوقين.

يجب إعطاء الأولوية لكبار السن والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة للمساعدة الإنسانية. غالبًا ما تكون هذه الفئات السكانية الضعيفة غير معروفة للمنظمات الإنسانية وغير قادرة على الوصول إلى الخدمات التي هي في أمس الحاجة إليها.

تم وضع عبء تقديم الدعم على عاتق المتطوعين المحليين والمنظمين ذاتيًا. في جميع أنحاء أوكرانيا ، قاموا بتوصيل المواد الغذائية والأدوية. ومع ذلك ، نظرًا للطبيعة غير الرسمية لهذه الاستجابة التطوعية ، كانت الإمدادات محدودة وكان هناك القليل جدًا من المشاركة الإنسانية بشأن قضايا الحماية. ويلزم بذل الجهود لربط هؤلاء السكان بهياكل المساعدة الإنسانية التي تتمتع بموارد جيدة.

ومما زاد الطين بلة ، أن العيش تحت القصف لأشهر كان له آثار نفسية عميقة على أولئك الذين بقوا. إن التعرض المزمن لصفارات الإنذار ، ودورة الأخبار على مدار 24 ساعة ، ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، والدمار العام لخاركيف ، يشوهون تصورات الخطر ويغيرون المخاطر المقبولة.

قالت لنا إحدى النساء: "لم نعد خائفين بعد الآن" ، بينما وقف عدد آخر حولها وهز رأسها برأسها بينما أطلقت صفارات الإنذار من بعيد.

ودعتنا امرأة أخرى ، تدعى تاتيانا ، كانت تنتظر في طابور الطعام عندما انفجرت الانفجارات في مكان قريب ، لزيارة شقتها ومقابلة زوجها كونستانتين.

قالت: "كسر زوجي وركه قبل الحرب". "لا يستطيع المشي".

تاتيانا تجلس بجانب زوجها قسطنطين في شقتهما في مدينة خاركيف ، أوكرانيا. قسطنطين غير قادر على المشي وظل الزوجان في شقتهما أثناء القصف. تقول تاتيانا: "لم نذهب إلى القبو مرة واحدة". "إنه لأمر مخيف للغاية سماع القصف." مدينة خاركيف ، أوكرانيا ، 26 مايو 2022. © Tetiana Gaviuk / Nonviolent Peaceforce.
تاتيانا تجلس بجانب زوجها قسطنطين في شقتهما في مدينة خاركيف ، أوكرانيا. (قوة السلام اللاعنفية / تيتيانا جافيوك)

مع بدء القصف في فبراير / شباط ، ساعدت الجماعات المدنية السكان الذين كانوا مستعدين وقادرين على إخلاء المدينة. اختارت تاتيانا وكونستانتين البقاء. واجه الاثنان مأزقًا واجهه الكثيرون في أوكرانيا في الأسابيع الأخيرة: "كان بإمكان المتطوعين مساعدتنا على الإخلاء ، ولكن ماذا سنفعل بعد الإخلاء؟ الأوضاع في المراكز الجماعية مكتظة ، وكيف سأعتني به هناك؟ "

في الشقق التي يعيش فيها الزوجان ، قام جميع جيرانهم ، باستثناء واحد ، إما بإخلاء المدينة أو الانسحاب إلى قبو المبنى. غالبًا ما يكون المأوى في الأقبية ومحطات المترو ومواقف السيارات هو الخيار الوحيد الذي توفره العديد من العائلات للغطاء. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يختارون البقاء أو ليس لديهم بدائل أخرى ، فإن مثل هذه الملاجئ المخصصة ليست دائمًا معززة بشكل كافٍ لتحمل مستوى القصف الذي يعاني منه شرق البلاد.

غالبًا ما يكون البقاء في هذه الملاجئ لساعات أو أيام أو أسابيع قاسيًا على أولئك الذين يجدون ملاذًا بداخلها. قال أرتيوم ، وهو صبي يبلغ من العمر 8 سنوات يحتمي في نفس الطابق السفلي مع عائلته ، "لقد اعتدت اللعب داخل الملجأ ، ولم أعد أرغب في الخروج واللعب مع أصدقائي". كان Artiom يحضر دروسًا عبر الإنترنت ويرغب في مواصلة تعليمه.

الظروف في القبو يرثى لها. تقطر مياه الصرف الصحي من الشقق أعلاه والمسابح على الأرض ؛ لا يوجد ضوء سوى القليل من الفوانيس والشموع والهواتف الخلوية. تظل درجات الحرارة باردة في أحسن الأحوال. هذا يقود البعض ، مثل تاتيانا وكونستانتين ، إلى تجنب الملاجئ ومواجهة رعب المدفعية الروسية. قالت تاتيانا وهي تجلس على سرير بجانب زوجها ممسكة بيده وتقاوم الدموع: "لم نذهب إلى القبو مرة واحدة". "إنه لأمر مخيف للغاية سماع القصف."

قال جارهم يوري ، وهو رجل في أواخر الستينيات من عمره ويعاني من إعاقة ، إنه يشعر بالعزلة والنسيان. قال مشيراً إلى كرسيه المتحرك: "لا أستطيع الذهاب إلى القبو". عندما سُئل كيف يتحمل الحرب ، أوضح يوري ، "إنها رغبة في العيش والبقاء". البقاء على قيد الحياة لم يكن سهلا.

استهدفت المدفعية الروسية البنية التحتية الرئيسية مما جعل الحصول على المواد والخدمات الأساسية أمرًا صعبًا. تقع أقرب أجهزة الصراف الآلي والصيدلية ومخازن المواد الغذائية على بعد ميلين على الأقل من المكان الذي يعيش فيه يوري ، مما يجعل الوصول إليه مستحيلًا في بعض الأحيان بالنسبة للمقيمين الذين يعانون من صعوبة في الحركة. ومما يزيد الطين بلة أن الأموال شحيحة أو غير متوفرة على الإطلاق في بعض المناطق. يفيد الكثيرون بأنهم غير قادرين على الوصول إلى معاشاتهم التقاعدية ومدخراتهم والمزايا الاجتماعية الأخرى.

فالنتينا ، إلى اليسار ، في ملجأ من القنابل في مدينة تشوهيف ، خاركيف أوبلاست. (قوة السلام اللاعنفية / تيتيانا جافيوك)

هذا صراع لا يواجهه فقط أولئك الذين يختارون البقاء ولكن البلد بأكمله. كان الوصول إلى الخدمات تحديًا كبيرًا ، لا سيما من قبل ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. عندما تم تدمير منزل فالنتينا البالغة من العمر 70 عامًا ، غادرت قريتها في لوهانسك ، في الشرق ، وتوجهت غربًا إلى لفيف. انضمت فالنتينا ، التي أمضت حوالي 11 ساعة في السفر بمفردها بالحافلة ، إلى أقاربها الذين غادروا القرية قبل شهر. وشهدت مدينة لوهانسك قتالًا عنيفًا في الأسابيع الأخيرة ، ويُقال إن مدينتها الرئيسية ، سيفيرودونتسك ، دُمرت بنسبة 90 في المائة. على الرغم من أن فالنتينا آمنة الآن ، إلا أن مخاوفها لم تنته بعد.

تقيم مع أقاربها وغيرهم من النازحين داخليًا من جميع أنحاء البلاد في مخيم سياحي بعيد في جبال الكاربات في غرب أوكرانيا. في الشهرين الماضيين ، لم تقدم أي منظمة إنسانية الدعم لفالنتينا أو النازحين الآخرين في المخيم.

أدى الافتقار إلى الوجود الإنساني في المواقع النائية إلى الدعوة إلى جهود المساعدة لإضفاء اللامركزية على الاستجابة والتوسع خارج المراكز الحضرية - مع تعزيز وتحويل الأموال الإنسانية الدولية نحو جهود الاستجابة المحلية التي يقودها المجتمع. ستستمر قوة السلام اللاعنفية في التواجد النشط في كل من مراكز عبور النازحين ومواقع الخطوط الأمامية المعزولة.

يتمثل أحد أهدافنا الرئيسية في إنشاء لقطات سريعة للمنطقة ، مع تسليط الضوء على مخاوف الحماية بين المجموعات السكانية الفرعية المعرضة للخطر ، وكذلك الدعوة إلى مثل هذه الاحتياجات للقطاع الإنساني الأكبر. تخطط قوة السلام اللاعنفية أيضًا للدخول في دور تسهيل هياكل الاستجابة شديدة المحلية لضمان استخدام موارد المجتمع المحدودة بشكل جيد. تتمثل الخطوة الرئيسية في بناء علاقات عميقة - التحرك بوتيرة الثقة مع هذه المجموعات المحلية - وإجراء تخطيط قوي للخدمة من أجل إحالة الأفراد والمنظمات المحلية بشكل أفضل. بمجرد إنشائها ، ستكون قوة السلام اللاعنفية في وضع جيد للعمل كجسر بين الاستجابة المدنية على الأرض والآلية الإنسانية.

لقد حددنا هذه التوصيات ، من بين احتياجات أخرى خاصة بالموقع ، ضمن تقييماتنا السريعة أجريت في خاركيف، و ميكولايف، الذي يبني على ملخص النتائج الأولية التي توصلنا إليها نشرت في مايو. سنواصل مشاركتنا مع المجتمعات المحلية من أجل تقديم الدعم المباشر والاستمرار في لفت الانتباه إلى الثغرات في الخدمة. هذا جزء من دورنا كمنظمة غير حكومية دولية: تضخيم أصوات السكان المحليين ، سواء فيما يتعلق بالعمل الرائع الذي يقومون به ، وكذلك احتياجاتهم الملحة. يجب على المجتمع الدولي بعد ذلك متابعة الالتزامات التي تم التعهد بها فيما يعرف باسم الصفقة الكبرىوهي اتفاقية فريدة بين الممولين المؤسسيين والشركاء والمنظمات غير الحكومية والأفراد.

في هذه الأثناء ، مع استمرار فصل الصيف وشعور صاحبة المخيم السياحي بالضغوط الاقتصادية لإعادة فتح العمل ، سيواجه النازحون داخليًا مثل فالنتينا وعائلتها مرة أخرى خطر فقدان مأواهم. تشكل عوامل الدفع الاقتصادية هذه اتجاهًا مقلقًا يجبر الكثيرين على العودة إلى مناطقهم الأصلية ، حتى لو لم يكونوا آمنين.

قالت فالنتينا: "أرى بعض الناس يعودون إلى قراهم وأعتقد" أين سأذهب؟ " قريتي محتلة. بيتي دمر ".


تيتيانا جافيوك مستشار برنامج بعثة قوة السلام اللاعنفية في أوكرانيا.
يواكيم كلاينمان هو أخصائي حماية وفني طبي طوارئ مدرب يعمل مع قوة السلام اللاعنفية ، والتي تركز على حماية المدنيين من خلال استراتيجيات غير مسلحة.
يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

fbpx
See upcoming events
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

As Russia’s invasion continues, Ukraine’s elderly and disabled struggle to survive

Date: July 21, 2022

Original Press Clip Source (English): Waging Nonviolence
Translated Press Clip Source (Italian): Il Centro Studi Sereno Regi

By Tetiana Gaviuk and Joachim Kleinmann 

A Nonviolent Peaceforce protection officer walks past the apartment building damaged by Russian forces in Kharkiv, Ukraine, in May 2022. (Nonviolent Peaceforce/Tetiana Gaviuk)
After a recent visit to hard-hit northeastern Ukraine, unarmed civilian protectors are exposing the lack of humanitarian engagement with the country’s most vulnerable populations.

Dozens stood outside of the entrance to an apartment block on the outskirts of Kharkiv. Some were talking, others stared off silently, lost in their thoughts. All were exhausted and digesting their new realities. The disheveled building they call home loomed in the background, its windows blown out from days of shelling by Russian forces.

Located less than 20 miles from the Russian border, Kharkiv, Ukraine’s second largest city, has seen some of the heaviest fighting since the war began in late February. Nearly half of its 1.4 million residents fled in the weeks after the assault began.

As members of Nonviolent Peaceforce, an international unarmed civilian protection NGO, we visited Kharkiv in May to assess the needs of vulnerable populations, identify critical protection concerns and establish relationships with civilian-led response efforts throughout the frontline communities most impacted by the war.

While watching the building’s remaining residents tolerantly wait in line for their daily hot meal — provided by local, self-organized community volunteers — it was hard to ignore the fact that they were mostly the elderly and disabled.

Older people and people with disabilities should be prioritized for humanitarian assistance. These highly vulnerable populations are often unknown to humanitarian organizations and unable to access services they so desperately need.

The majority burden of providing support has been placed on self-organized, local volunteers. Across Ukraine, they have been delivering food items and medication. However, due to the informal nature of this volunteer response, supplies have been limited and there has been far too little humanitarian engagement on issues of protection. Efforts need to be taken to connect these populations with more well-resourced humanitarian assistance structures.

To make matters worse, months of living under shelling has had profound psychological impacts on those who have stayed. Chronic exposure to air sirens, the 24-hour news cycle, social media, and the general devastation of Kharkiv are distorting perceptions of danger and altering acceptable risks.

“We are not afraid anymore,” one woman told us, while several more stood around her nodding as an air raid siren wailed in the distance.

Another woman, named Tatiana, who was waiting in the food line as explosions went off nearby, invited us to visit her apartment and meet her husband Konstantin.

“My husband broke his hip before the war,” she said. “He can’t walk.”

Tatiana sits beside her husband Konstantin in their apartment in Kharkiv city, Ukraine. Konstantin is unable to walk and the couple remain in their apartment during the shelling. “We haven’t gone to the basement once”, Tatiana says. “It’s very scary to hear the bombing.” Kharkiv city, Ukraine, 26 May 2022. © Tetiana Gaviuk/Nonviolent Peaceforce.
Tatiana sits beside her husband Konstantin in their apartment in Kharkiv city, Ukraine. (Nonviolent Peaceforce/Tetiana Gaviuk)

As the bombardment began back in February, civilian collectives assisted residents, who were both willing and able to evacuate the city. Tatiana and Konstantin chose to stay. The two faced a predicament many in Ukraine have been confronted with in recent weeks: “Volunteers could have helped us to evacuate, but what would we do after the evacuation? Conditions in collective centers are overcrowded, and how would I take care of him there?”

In the apartments where the couple live, all of their neighbors, except one, have either evacuated the city or withdrawn to the building’s basement. Sheltering in cellars, metro stations and car parks is often the only option many families have for cover. For those who choose to remain or don’t have other alternatives, such ad hoc shelters aren’t always sufficiently reinforced to withstand the level of shelling the east of the country has been experiencing.

Staying in these shelters for hours, days or weeks is often harsh on those who find refuge within them. Artiom, an 8-year-old boy sheltering in the same basement with his family, said “I’ve gotten so used to playing inside the shelter, I no longer wish to step outside and play with my friends.” Artiom has been attending online classes and wishes to continue his education.

The conditions in the basement are deplorable. Sewage water drips from the apartments above and pools on the floor; there’s no light aside from the little bit cast by lanterns, candles and cellphones; temperatures remain chilled at best. This leads some, like Tatiana and Konstantin, to avoid the shelters and face the horror of Russian artillery. “We haven’t gone to the basement once,” Tatiana said, as she sat on a bed beside her husband, holding his hand and fighting back tears. “It’s very scary to hear the bombing.”

Their neighbor, Yuriy, a man in his late 60s, who lives with a disability, said he feels isolated and forgotten. “I can’t go to the basement,” he said pointing to his wheelchair. When asked how he endures the war, Yuriy explained, “It is a desire to live and survive.” Surviving has not been easy.

Russian artillery has targeted key infrastructure making basic items and services hard to come by. The nearest ATM, pharmacy and food stores are at least two miles away from where Yuriy lives, and this makes access impossible at times for residents living with reduced mobility. Making matters worse, money is tight or not available at all in some areas. Many report being unable to access their pensions, savings and other social benefits.

Valentina, left, in a bomb shelter in the city of Chuhuiv, Kharkiv Oblast. (Nonviolent Peaceforce/Tetiana Gaviuk)

This is a struggle faced not only by those choosing to stay but the entire country. Access to services has been a major challenge, especially by those having special needs. When the house of 70-year-old Valentina was destroyed, she left her village in Luhansk, in the east, and headed west to Lviv. Valentina, who spent roughly 11 hours traveling alone by bus, joined her relatives who had evacuated from the village a month earlier. Luhansk has seen heavy fighting in recent weeks and its major city, Severodonetsk, is said to be 90 percent destroyed. Although Valentina is safe now, her worries are far from over.

She stays with her relatives and other internally displaced persons, or IDPs, from all over the country in a remote tourist camp in the Carpathian Mountains of western Ukraine. In the last two months, no humanitarian organization has offered support to Valentina or the others displaced in the encampment.

A lack of humanitarian presence in remote locations has led us to call for aid efforts to decentralize the response and expand beyond urban hubs — while also bolstering and funneling international humanitarian funds towards local, community-led response efforts. Nonviolent Peaceforce will continue to have an active presence in both IDP transit hubs and these isolated, frontline locations.

One of our main objectives is to create area snapshots, highlighting both the protection concerns amongst vulnerable subpopulations, as well as advocate such needs to the larger humanitarian sector. Nonviolent Peaceforce also plans to step into the role of facilitating hyper-localized response structures to ensure limited community resources are well utilized. The key step is building deep relationships — moving at the pace of trust with these local collectives — and conducting robust service mapping in order to best refer individuals and local organizations. Once established, Nonviolent Peaceforce will be well positioned to act as a bridge between the on-the-ground civilian response and humanitarian machinery.

We have outlined these recommendations, among other location-specific needs, within our rapid assessments conducted in Kharkiv, and Mykolaiv, which builds on the summary of our preliminary findings published in May. We will continue our engagement with local communities in order to provide direct support and continue to draw attention to gaps in service. This is part of our role as an international NGO: to amplify the voices of the locals, both in regards to the incredible work they are doing, as well as their urgent needs. The international community must then follow through on the commitments made in what is known as the Grand Bargain, a unique agreement between institutional funders, partners, NGOs and individuals.

Meanwhile, as the summer continues and the owner of the tourist camp feels the economic pressure to reopen the business, IDPs like Valentina and her family will again be at risk of losing their shelter. Such economic push factors are a worrisome trend forcing many to return to their areas of origin, even if they are not safe.

“I see some people are going back to their villages and I think ‘where would I go?’” Valentina said. “My village is occupied. My house destroyed.”


Tetiana Gaviuk is Program Advisor for Nonviolent Peaceforce mission in Ukraine.
Joachim Kleinmann is a protection specialist and trained emergency medical technician working with Nonviolent Peaceforce, which focuses on civilian protection through unarmed strategies.
You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English