Siehe kommende Veranstaltungen
Nonviolent Peaceforce-Logo mit blauem PunktSpenden

Gute Praktiken

Erweiterung des Feldes

Globale Überprüfung bewährter Verfahren im Bereich des unbewaffneten Zivilschutzes

Although communities have used Unarmed Civilian Protection (UCP) for generations, it has only relatively recently gained recognition as a valuable method for protecting civilians and contributing to sustainable peace. Now, there is an urgent need to research and document the experiences of organizations on the ground in the last decades, in order to articulate proven, effective strategies methods. There are now more than 70 known groups who practice UCP. However, this does not account for the vast range of community-level UCP initiatives, of which there are countless examples.

Im Dienste dieses Ziels

Nonviolent Peaceforce leitet eine umfassende globale Überprüfung bewährter Verfahren im Bereich des unbewaffneten Zivilschutzes. Der Zweck des Good-Practice-Prozesses besteht darin, den Bereich der UCP zu stärken und auszubauen, indem Praktiker, Akademiker und betroffene Begünstigte zusammengebracht werden, um über die Bedürfnisse, Erfolge und Misserfolge der UCP in diesen Bereichen nachzudenken.

Folgen Sie den vier Phasen dieses Prozesses

Stufe 1: Fallstudien (Buch abgeschlossen im Mai 2016)

Durchführung von Fallstudien in vier Gebieten der Welt, in denen UCP praktiziert wird: Südsudan, Kolumbien, Philippinen (Mindanao) und Israel/Palästina. Die Forscher überprüften die Arbeit von mehr als zwanzig lokalen und internationalen Organisationen und identifizierten und beschrieben 77 gute UCP-Praktiken. Ihre Ergebnisse wurden in dem Buch „Gewaltlosigkeit inmitten von Gewalt“, herausgegeben von Ellen Furnari, die auch zwei der Feldstudien selbst durchgeführt hat.

Stufe 2: Regionale Workshops (siehe Berichte hier, von 2017 - 2021)

Sechs moderierte Beratungsgruppen auf regionaler Basis einberufen und bestehend aus UCP-Praktikern, Feldpartnern, Begünstigten und Akademikern für dreitägige Sitzungen, um ihre Arbeit zu überprüfen, die Ergebnisse der ersten Stufe zu analysieren und bewährte Verfahren und aufkommende Themen zu validieren sowie Dilemmata oder Herausforderungen zu identifizieren, die aufgeworfen wurden, aber nicht von den Fällen beantwortet. 

Nonviolent Peaceforce organisierte regionale Workshops mit dem Titel „Good Practices in Nonviolent, Unarmed, Civilian to Civilian Protection“. 

Siehe hier für die Zusammenfassung der Good-Practice-Workshops: EnglischFranzösischSpanischArabisch 

Siehe unten für Papiere, die die wichtigen Diskussionen, Themen und Ergebnisse der einzelnen Workshops zusammenfassen.

Phase 3: Zusammenstellen der ersten UCP Good Practices-Konferenzen (2021 & 2023)

Wir veranstalten die ersten UCP Good Practices-Konferenzen, Praktiker, Feldpartner, Nutznießer, politische Entscheidungsträger und Akademiker zusammenbringen, um die Ergebnisse der Fallstudien und Beratungsgruppen zu diskutieren und gute UCP-Praktiken zu validieren, die erweitert und repliziert sowie bestehende Praktiken verbessert werden können. Die Organisationen, die derzeit UCP praktizieren, haben sich nie alle getroffen. Die Konferenzen werden auch dazu beitragen, ein internationales UCP-Netzwerk aufzubauen.

Das virtuelles internationales Treffen fand vom 12. bis 14. und 19. bis 21. November 2021 statt

Das Gesicht zu Gesicht sammeln in Genf ist vorläufig geplant 2023

Stufe 4: Ergebnisse veröffentlichen, verbreiten und bewerten (2021 - laufend)

Ergebnisse veröffentlichen, verbreiten und auswerten. Nachdem die guten Praktiken in den Phasen 1-3 identifiziert, analysiert und validiert wurden, werden sie an alle Organisationen verteilt, die derzeit UCP praktizieren, um sie in Schulungsmaterialien zu integrieren. Die Ergebnisse werden auch potenziellen neuen Praktikern, politischen Entscheidungsträgern und Geldgebern präsentiert, darunter der Abteilung für Friedenssicherungseinsätze der Vereinten Nationen, der UN-Abteilung für politische Angelegenheiten, den UN-Freunden für den Schutz der Zivilbevölkerung, regionalen Organisationen wie ASEAN, der Afrikanischen Union und der Europäischen Union; das Internationale Komitee vom Roten Kreuz und Roten Halbmond und zivilgesellschaftliche Netzwerke wie das Westafrikanische Netzwerk für Friedenskonsolidierung, das Europäische Verbindungsbüro für Friedenskonsolidierung, die Allianz für Friedenskonsolidierung, Frontline Defenders und War Resisters International. Die Ergebnisse werden auch mit Gruppen geteilt, die nur auf lokaler Ebene arbeiten.

Good Practices in Unarmed Civilian Protection (Paige McLain, Chris Grathwol, and Will Goltra; Nonviolent Peaceforce and the University of Minnesota Human Rights Lab), February 2021:
Englisch

Reflexionen aus dem virtuellen Treffen für unbewaffneten Zivilschutz/Begleitung (UCP/A) im November 2021 und den sechs regionalen UCP/A Good Practices Workshops, die ihm vorangegangen sind:
Englisch | Spanisch | Französisch | Arabisch

Länder - Gute Praktiken

Gelbes KartensymbolIn Fallstudien der Stufe 1 enthaltene Länder

Rosa Kartensymbol Länder, in denen Workshops zu bewährten Verfahren der Stufe 2 abgehalten wurden 

Grünes KartensymbolLänder, in denen Workshop-Teilnehmer bei einer UCP-Organisation gearbeitet haben (Hinweis: Nur ein Marker pro Land, mit Ausnahme eines zusätzlichen Markers in den Grenzgebieten zwischen den USA und Mexiko)

Verzeichnis der UCP/A und verwandter Organisationen

Pfeil rechts
Deutsch (Schweiz)

See upcoming events
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

Good Practices

Expanding the Field

Global review of good practices in the field of unarmed civilian protection

Unarmed civilian protection (UCP) has gained recognition as a valuable method for protecting civilians and contributing to sustainable peace. As a relatively new practice, there is an urgent need to research and document the experiences of organizations on the ground in the last decades, in order to articulate proven, effective strategies methods. There are now more than 50 known groups who practice UCP. However, this does not account for the vast range of community-level UCP initiatives, of which there are countless examples.

In service of this goal,

Nonviolent Peaceforce is spearheading a comprehensive global review of good practices in the field of unarmed civilian protection. The purpose of the good practices process is to strengthen and grow the field of UCP by bringing practitioners, academics, and affected beneficiaries together to reflect on the needs, successes and failure of UCP in these areas.

Follow along the four stages of this process

Stage 1: Case Studies (Book Completed May 2016)

Conducted case studies in four areas of the world where UCP is being practiced: South Sudan, Colombia, the Philippines (Mindanao) and Israel/Palestine. The researchers reviewed the work of more than twenty local and international organizations, and identified and described 77 UCP good practices. Their findings were published in the book "Wielding Nonviolence in the Midst of Violence", edited by Ellen Furnari, who also conducted two of the field studies herself.

Stage 2: Regional Workshops (See reports here, from 2017 - 2021)

Six facilitated consultation groups convened on a regional basis and made up of UCP practitioners, field partners, beneficiaries and academics for three-day sessions to review their work, analyze findings of stage one and validate good practices and emerging themes as well as identify dilemmas or challenges raised but not answered by the cases. 

Nonviolent Peaceforce organized regional workshops with the title “Good Practices in Nonviolent, Unarmed, Civilian to Civilian Protection.” 

See here for the summary of Good Practices Workshops: EnglishFrenchSpanishArabic 

See below for papers that summarize the important discussions, issues and findings of each workshop.

Stage 3: Assemble the first UCP Good Practices conferences (2021 & 2023)

We are assembling the first UCP Good Practices conferences, gathering practitioners, field partners, beneficiaries, policy makers and academics to discuss the findings of the case studies and consultation groups, and validate UCP good practices that can be scaled up and replicated as well as improve upon existing practice. The organizations currently practicing UCP have never all met. The conferences will also help to establish an international UCP network.

The virtual international gathering was held November 12-14 and 19-21 of 2021
Report from the November 2021 virtual gathering: English
More information here

The Face2Face gathering in Geneva is tentatively scheduled for 2023

Stage 4: Publish, disseminate and evaluate findings (2021 - ongoing)

Publish, disseminate and evaluate findings. After the good practices are identified, analyzed and validated in stages 1-3, they will be disseminated to all of the organizations currently practicing UCP for integration into training materials. Findings will also be presented to potential new practitioners, policy makers and funders including the United Nations Department of Peacekeeping Operations, UN Department of Political Affairs, UN Friends of Protection of Civilians, regional organizations including ASEAN, the African Union and the European Union; the International Committee of the Red Cross and Red Crescent and civil society networks like the West African Network for Peace Building, the European Peacebuilding Liaison Office, the Alliance for Peacebuilding, Frontline Defenders and War Resisters International. Findings will also be shared with groups working only on the local level.

Reflections from the Unarmed Civilian Protection/Accompaniment (UCP/A) Virtual Gathering in November 2021 and the six regional UCP/A Good Practices Workshops that preceded it:
English | Spanish | French & Arabic coming soon

Countries - Good Practices

Yellow Map IconCountries included in Stage 1 Case Studies

Pink Map Icon Countries where Stage 2 Good Practices Workshops have been held 

Green Map IconCountries where attendees of workshops have worked in with a UCP organization (Note: only one marker per country, with the exception of one additional marker placed on US/Mexico borderlands)

arrow-right
English