fbpx
كل دولار يصل إلى $50،000 حتى 31 ديسمبر! تبرع اليوم.
آلية SpeakUp® الخاصة بنا
شعار بيسفورس اللاعنفي بنقطة زرقاءتبرع

من العزلة إلى الاتصال

التاريخ: 28 نوفمبر 2022

بقلم دينيس رافايلي كادورنيجا

بعد أن نشأت في Ilocos Norte البعيدة ، اندمجت Annielyn في مجتمعها المحلي الجديد في Basilan. الآن ، هذه النسوية الشمالية تدعم بناء السلام في المنطقة الجنوبية.

Annielyn هي ممرضة سابقة من Ilocos Norte ، درست القبالة وعملت في ماليزيا كعاملة فلبينية في الخارج. التقت بزوجها في كوالالمبور وتعيش الآن في باسيلان ، تعمل كعاملة صحية في بارانغاي.

كونك من الخارج

Annielyn من Ilocos Norte ، في أقصى شمال الفلبين ، لكنها انتقلت لتكون مع زوجها. عندما أتت لأول مرة إلى جزيرة باسيلان الواقعة في أقصى جنوب الفلبين ، واجهت التمييز. استطاعت أن تقول على الفور أن هناك عدم ثقة في الغرباء. وشعرت بالتأكيد كأنها دخيلة: لقد جاءت من الطرف الآخر من البلاد وواجهت حواجز لغوية ودينية (نشأت أنيلين مسيحية ولم تتحول بعد إلى الإسلام).

لكن أنيلين ثابرت. لقد تعرفت على مجتمعها الجديد ، وتعرفوا عليها. تم تخفيف بعض التمييز ، جزئيًا لأنها بنت تلك العلاقات والثقة ، وجزئيًا لأنها تعلمت من أهل باسيلان: أصبحت جزءًا منها بارانجايوتعلموا اللغة ووجدوا الإسلام.

لقد تم تدريبها كممرضة وقابلة ، وعرفت أنها تريد استخدام مهاراتها في المجتمع.

بمجرد أن استقرت أنيلين في باسيلان ووظيفتها الجديدة كعاملة صحية ، بدأت في ملاحظة المشكلات التي تواجهها باسيلان كمقاطعة مهمشة. بصفتها عاملة صحية ، غالبًا ما تعرض أنيلين إحضار المرضى إلى المستشفى إذا لم تعد حالتهم قابلة للإدارة على المستوى المحلي. لكن البعض يخشى زيارة المستشفيات في المدن الكبرى خوفا من التمييز. رأت أن مرضاها يخشون نفس التمييز الذي شعرت به عندما وصلت - التمييز ضد الغرباء.

قمة باسيلان

العنف الذي يأتي مع العزلة

لاحظت Annielyn أن العديد من الأشخاص منغلقين على مجموعات خارج مجتمعاتهم ، مما يخلق شعورًا بأنهم يتعرضون لسيطرة الغرباء أو مهاجمتهم. وهي تعتقد أن هذا الخوف جعل الناس في باسيلان عرضة للإيديولوجيات العنيفة أو الانضمام إلى الجماعات المسلحة غير الحكومية المنخرطة في صراع نشط في المنطقة.

"يمكنك أن تصلي خمس مرات في اليوم ، ولكن عندما تقتل شخصًا ما ، فأنت تنسى الله بالفعل".

Pwede kayo mag للصلاة خمس مرات في اليوم ، pero kapag pumatay kayo ، nalilimutan ninyo na ang Diyos ".

هذا الافتقار إلى السلام ساهم في نقص التعليم المناسب ، مما ساهم في أمور أخرى ، مثل القضايا الصحية والزواج المبكر. بعض أفراد المجتمع غير قادرين على الوصول إلى الخدمات الحكومية والفرص الاقتصادية بسبب الانقسام الذي يسببه الصراع.

وقد تضاعف كل هذا. ترافق جائحة COVID-19 أيضًا مع أزمة اقتصادية والمزيد من الاضطرابات ، مما جعل المجتمعات أكثر عرضة للتجنيد من قبل الجماعات المسلحة غير الحكومية - وخاصة النساء والفتيات الصغيرات اللائي يشاركن بشكل متزايد في المهام الانتحارية وشبكات التجنيد.

تتذكر أنيلين أنه بعد فترة وجيزة من انتقالها إلى باسيلان في عام 2016 ، أصبح العنف في بلدتها خارج نطاق السيطرة ، مما اضطر سكان المدينة إلى الإخلاء. كانت أنيلين حاملًا في ذلك الوقت. وسط عمليات الإجلاء ، عرفت أنها تريد حياة أفضل لأطفالها ولجميع أطفال باسيلان. إنها تؤمن بأن السلام والتعليم هما الحلان لهذه القضايا - وهي طريقة لإنهاء العنف الذي هو خاطئ بشدة في عينيها.

بناء العلاقات وبناء السلام

تقر أنيلين بأن حل النزاعات العنيفة أمر صعب وهناك الكثير من العمل الذي يتعين القيام به. ومع ذلك ، فهي ليست وحدها في هذه الجهود.

حضرت Annielyn ورش عمل Nonviolent Peaceforce (NP) التي تركز على تمكين المجتمعات ضد العنف ، فضلاً عن التدريب على الصحة العقلية والإسعافات الأولية النفسية والاجتماعية لأولئك الأكثر تعرضًا للخطر. يركز الكثير من هذا على التدريب الذي يراعي الفوارق بين الجنسين ، وهو أمر بالغ الأهمية في المجتمعات التي تتعرض فيها النساء للتهميش.

كرئيسة لجمعية العاملين الصحيين في Barangay ، تعمل Annielyn على هذه المفاهيم في ندواتها الخاصة ، ولاحظت أن الشباب قد تأثروا بالفعل. النساء الشابات في مجتمعهن أكثر وعيًا بحقوقهن وقدراتهن ، لا سيما اللواتي تعلمن تفكيك الأدوار التقليدية للجنسين. لقد كان هذا رابطًا قويًا في تطوير المجتمع والحفاظ على السلام ، حيث أن دمج المزيد من الشمولية في التنمية يمكن أن يحول المجتمع بأكمله

"ما تعلمناه عن النساء ، أنه لدينا حقًا ، كما تعلم ، فعل. أنا حقا تعلمت الكثير. الشباب ، الذين يتعلمون عن مفاهيم الجنس والجندر ، وخاصة أولئك الذين كانوا معنا هناك ، يشاركون أن عقولهم قد انفتحت ".

Yung natutunan po، tungkol sa kababaihan، yung may rights pala tayo na umano، yun ... Marami po akong natutunan talaga. Mga youth، sa sex and gender na yan، lalo na yung mga kasama namin doon، shinashare nila na nabuksan yung kanilang isip.

تلعب أنيلين دورًا قياديًا مهمًا في مجتمعها ، وتستضيف أيضًا برامج للمساعدة في تمكين النساء اللائي تعرضن للتهميش بسبب أوضاعهن. إنها تدعم الأمهات المبكرات ، مثل أولئك اللائي دخلن في زيجات مرتبة في سن الرابعة عشرة ولديهن بالفعل طفلان أو ثلاثة أطفال. غالبًا ما يعاني أطفالهم من سوء التغذية بسبب نقص الموارد ، والعاطلين عن العمل في سن مبكرة ، ونقص المعرفة حول ما يجب إطعامهم لأطفالهم. غالبًا ما تلجأ الأمهات الشابات إلى العصيدة والأرز والسكر لأطفالهن ، وهو أمر غير كافٍ. وتقول إن الطعام قد يكون من الصعب أحيانًا نموه أيضًا ، لكنها تقول إن العديد من الأمهات بدأن في زراعة الحدائق مثل زراعة النباتات مالونجايلمساعدة أطفالهم على تلبية احتياجاتهم الغذائية.

"أود أن أشكركم جميعًا من منظمة NP الموجودين هنا لمساعدتنا على فتح قلوبهم وعقولهم من أجل مستقبل أطفالنا." 

Yung natutunan po، tungkol sa kababaihan، yung may rights pala tayo na umano، yun ... Marami po akong natutunan talaga. Mga youth، sa sex and gender na yan، lalo na yung mga kasama namin doon، shinashare nila na nabuksan yung kanilang isip.

مسرورة بتقدمها من خلال مبادراتها الخاصة بالشراكة مع مشروع Women-STRIVE التابع لـ NP ، وتريد Annielyn مواصلة خدمة مجتمعها والبناء على ما تم البدء به في المنطقة. وهي تعتقد أن إنشاء أساس للسلام وإعلام أفراد المجتمع بوكالتهم الخاصة في تشكيل مستقبل مجتمعهم يمكن أن يكون له تأثير قوي.

* * *

Annielyn هي واحدة من المستفيدين والمشاركين في التدريب في مشروع Women-STRIVE الذي تنفذه منظمة Nonviolent Peaceforce من خلال التمويل من المعونة الأسترالية والداعمين مثلك. يتم تنفيذ Women-STRIVE في Lanao Del Norte و Basilan للمساهمة في منع العنف ومكافحته من خلال تمكين المرأة في بناء السلام المحلي ، وتحويل النزاعات المجتمعية ، والدعوة للسلام.

يمكنك حماية المدنيين الذين يعيشون في نزاع عنيف أو يفرون منه. ستؤدي مساهمتك إلى تحويل استجابة العالم للنزاعات.
السهم الأيمن
العربية

fbpx
Every dollar matched up to $50,000 until December 31! Give today.
See upcoming events
Nonviolent Peaceforce logo with blue dotDonate

From Isolation to Connection

Date: November 28, 2022

By Denise Rafaeli Cadorniga

Having grown up in faraway Ilocos Norte, Annielyn integrated herself into her new local community in Basilan. Now, this northern feminist supports peacebuilding in southern region.

Annielyn is a former nurse from Ilocos Norte, who studied midwifery and worked in Malaysia as Overseas Filipino Worker. She met her spouse in Kuala Lumpur and now lives in Basilan, serving as a Barangay Health Worker.

Being an Outsider

Annielyn is from Ilocos Norte, in the northernmost part of the Philippines, but moved to be with her spouse. When she first came to Basilan, an island in the southernmost part of the Philippines, she faced discrimination. She could immediately tell that there was mistrust of outsiders. And she certainly felt like an outsider: she came from the opposite end of the country and she faced language and religious barriers (Annielyn grew up Christian and hadn't yet converted to Islam).

But Annielyn persevered. She got to know her new community, and they got to know her. Some of the discrimination eased, partly because she built those relationships and trust, and partly because she learned from the people of Basilan: she became a part of her barangay, learned the language, and found Islam.

She had been trained as a nurse and a midwife, and knew she wanted to use her skills in the community.

Once Annielyn was settled into Basilan and her new job as a health worker, she began noticing issues that Basilan faces as a marginalized province. As a health worker, Annielyn often offers to bring patients to the hospital if their case is no longer manageable at the local level. But some are afraid of visiting hospitals in bigger cities due to fear of discrimination. She saw her patients fear the same discrimination that she felt when she arrived—discrimination of outsiders.

Basilan Peak

The Violence that Comes with Isolation

Annielyn has noticed that many people are closed-minded towards groups outside of their own, which creates a feeling that they are being controlled or attacked by outsiders. She believes that this fear has made people in Basilan susceptible to violent ideologies or joining the armed non-state groups that are engaged in active conflict in the area.

"You can pray five times a day, but when you kill someone, you’re already forgetting God."

Pwede kayo mag pray nang five times a day, pero kapag pumatay kayo, nalilimutan ninyo na ang Diyos."

This lack of peace has contributed to a lack of proper education, which has contributed to other things, like health issues and early marriages. Some community members are unable to access government services and economic opportunities due to the divide that conflict causes.

These have all compounded. The COVID-19 pandemic has also been accompanied by economic crisis and even more unrest, making communities even more vulnerable to recruitment by armed non-state groups—especially women and young girls, who are increasingly involved in suicide missions and recruitment networks.

Annielyn recalls that, shortly after moving to Basilan in 2016, the violence in her town became so uncontrollable, residents of the town were forced to evacuate. Annielyn was pregnant at the time. Amidst the evacuations, she knew she wanted a better life for her children and for all the children of Basilan. She believes that peace and education are the answers to these issues—a way to end the violence that is so vehemently wrong in her eyes.

Building Relationships and Building Peace

Annielyn acknowledges that resolving violent conflict is difficult and there is a lot of work to be done. However, she is far from alone in these efforts.

Annielyn has attended Nonviolent Peaceforce (NP) workshops focusing on empowering communities against violence, as well as training on mental health and psychosocial first aid for those who are most at risk. Much of this centers on gender-sensitive training, which is crucial in communities where women are marginalized.

As the President of Barangay Health Workers Association, Annielyn works these concepts into her own seminars, and noted that the youth have already been influenced. Young women in her community are more aware of their rights and their capabilities, especially those who have learned to deconstruct traditional gender roles. This has been a strong bond in developing the community and maintaining peace, as integrating more inclusivity into development can transform the entire community

"What we learned about women, that we actually have rights to, you know, act. I really learned a lot. The youth, learning about those sex and gender concepts, especially those who were with us there, they share that their minds have been opened."

Yung natutunan po, tungkol sa kababaihan, yung may rights pala tayo na umano, yun... Marami po akong natutunan talaga. Mga youth, sa sex and gender na yan, lalo na yung mga kasama namin doon, shinashare nila na nabuksan yung kanilang isip.

Playing an important leadership role in her community, Annielyn also hosts programs to help empower women who otherwise have been marginalized due to their situations. She supports early mothers, such as those who have entered into arranged marriages as young as fourteen years old and already have two or three children. Their children are often malnourished due to a lack of resources, being unemployed at a young age, and a lack of knowledge about what to feed their children. Young mothers often turn to porridge, rice, and sugar for their children, which is insufficient. She says that food can sometimes be difficult to grow as well, but she says that many mothers are starting to garden, growing plants like malunggay, to help their children meet their nutritional needs.

"I would like to thank you all from the NP organization who are here to help us open their hearts and minds for the future of our children." 

Yung natutunan po, tungkol sa kababaihan, yung may rights pala tayo na umano, yun... Marami po akong natutunan talaga. Mga youth, sa sex and gender na yan, lalo na yung mga kasama namin doon, shinashare nila na nabuksan yung kanilang isip.

Pleased with her progress through her own initiatives in partnership with NP’s Women-STRIVE Project, Annielyn wants to continue serving her community and build on what has been started in the area. She believes that establishing a foundation of peace and informing community members of their own agency in shaping their community's future can have a powerful impact.

* * *

Annielyn is one of the beneficiaries and training participants of the Women-STRIVE Project implemented by Nonviolent Peaceforce through funding from Australian Aid and supporters like you. Women-STRIVE is being implemented in Lanao Del Norte and Basilan to contribute in preventing and countering violence through women empowerment in local peacebuilding, community-based conflict transformation and peace advocacy.

You can protect civilians who are living in or fleeing violent conflict. Your contribution will transform the world's response to conflict.
arrow-right
English